We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Oak Wood Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Airport Road | Town Centre, Shannon, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shannon
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
184 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I was here recently for a wedding and what a superb place it is. it is slightly old fashioned but I think this adds to the atmosphere. The lobby area is bright and airy with loads of light coming in. I found the staff to be so courteous and friendly. The function room itself is large and also spacious with a nice well stocked bar. The food was delightful and very well presented. great cocktails too. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at Oak Wood Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear lucyyeah,
Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Oakwood Arms Hotel recently and thank you also for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us while attending a wedding. Your positive feedback regarding the staff, excellent location, bedrooms and fantastic food quality is most rewarding for all the team..
I will be sure to share your feedback with the team, so they can see how their attention to detail and great customer service pays off. We look forward to welcoming you on your return visit.

My Kindest Regards

Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co.Clare
Tel. 061 719 236
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    165
    90
    50
    23
See reviews for
109
202
40
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Usually staying at a Shannon Hotel is only for those coming and going to the airport since Shannon doesn't offer much to see there. The closest attraction worth seeing is Bunratty Castle which is about 5-7 miles away. The Oakwood Arms Hotel is competitively priced most days and the rooms are clean and spacious, however, it is due for an update. Their restaurant is not competitively priced and is somewhat expensive, you may want to seek sustenance elsewhere. Do not get their Bed & Breakfast package if you have to fly out early the next morning, you will have left the hotel before they open the restaurant. There are some fast food places nearby, like McDonald's, within a block from the hotel. There are a couple of petrol stations near the Oakwood Arms to fill up your rental before dropping it off at the airport. The drive to the airport is no more than 3-5 minutes away and surprisingly there is no airport noise at the "Arms". We stayed there a couple of time when we were leaving Ireland and were glad we didn't have to drive far to reach the airport since most U.S. Flights leave very early. There are a couple of other hotels in the area, so shop around for the best price. Prices do fluctuate due to seasonal demands. Overall the staff was friendly, however, I sensed some indifference from them.

Room Tip: I can't wait to go back to Ireland! And I will continue to go through Shannon since Dublin is b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at Oak Wood Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear yooGoGirl3
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. As always we are thrilled when our guests enjoy their stay with us. We deeply value your relationship with the Oakwood Arms Hotel and are committed to providing our guests with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best.
I will be sure to share your feedback with the team, so they can see how their attention to detail and great customer service pays off. We look forward to welcoming you on your return visit.

My Kindest Regards

Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co.Clare
Tel. 061 719 236
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed recently at this Hotel, would have been better off not too.
Dowdy, dark & depressing, could do with a complete overhaul including some off the staff.
Room was well worn
Outside going up the runway at 300 mph not much else to see or do in Shannon.

Room Tip: Go else where !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at Oak Wood Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear BPH_68

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us here at The Oakwood Arms Hotel. I am sorry that on this occasion that you felt let down and that we did not live up to our usually high standards. I would very much appreciate if you would kindly contact me at the following email sales@oakwoodarms.com to discuss your stay in detail.

My Kindest Regards

Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co. Clare
Tel. 061 719 236
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardfert, Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

my husband & I stayed at this hotel on 12th & 13th July.After reading some of the reviews I didn't quite know what to expect, Yes it is dark ,but I prefer to say it is old & quirky .The pub within the hotel was a real bonus & was typically your Irish pub & they served an array of lovely fresh food daily & every evening. The dining room was lovely & served a brill full Irish Breakfast with everything being plentiful & again a fantastic evening menu. we had the best steak ever .The rooms are clean & spacious but I would suggest taking your own toiletries. The staff where warm & friendly & very helpful. I would without a doubt go back to this hotel....

Room Tip: we liked the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at Oak Wood Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Julie J,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Oakwood Arms Hotel recently and thank you also for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Your positive feedback regarding the staff, excellent location, bedrooms and fantastic food quality is most rewarding for all the team..
I will be sure to share your feedback with the team, so they can see how their attention to detail and great customer service pays off. We look forward to welcoming you on your return visit.

My Kindest Regards

Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co.Clare
Tel. 061 719 236
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

A nice property with a lot of history. However, like other older structures, it can be trying. Lifts somewhat illogical (go upstairs to the lift?) and with luggage, troublesome. Internet, spotty at times and too frequent. Staff was attentive and helpful.

The pub was everything an Irish pub should be; better yet, the dining room offered splendid meals for dinner. Excellent food from starters to dessert. Breakfast buffet was "full on" Irish spread.

Not a bad hotel, just a few quirks. As a business traveler, I would prefer a more modern hotel. That said, I would not exclude the Oakwood in the future, but I would compare other options prior t booking.

Room Tip: Opt for the larger room if budget permits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at Oak Wood Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Red-Badger-22
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences following your recent stay with us here at The Oakwood Arms Hotel. It’s part of the hotels policy to read our reviews closely and use them for both employee recognition and to ensure that you our clients are receiving the highest level of service. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team, so they can see how their attention to detail and great customer service pays off.
My Kindest Regards

Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co.Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights with a friend. Staff were so nice. Food was delicious, rooms were ok. A bit old fashioned but that did not take away from our pleasant stay. I would recommend a visit. There is a large shopping centre just a few minutes walk from the hotel and also a lovely pub with great music and craic.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at Oak Wood Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear 40berni_3440

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Oakwood Arms Hotel recently and we appreciate you taking time out to post your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Your positive feedback regarding the staff, excellent location, bedrooms and fantastic food quality is most rewarding for all the team.
I will be sure to share your feedback with the team, so they can see how their attention to detail and great customer service pays off. We look forward to welcoming you on your return visit.

My Kindest Regards

Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co.Clare
Tel. 061 719 236
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in March, can't praise the staff enough so warm and friendly couldn't do enough for us. Food in the restaurant was absolutely amazing, rooms were lovely and the hotel was in a nice central location. Will definitely be returning. Very impressed overall

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at Oak Wood Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear CloCork,

Thank you for kindly for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review on Trip advisor.
Our philosophy is great service and quality at affordable prices. We delighted when our guest take time out to express their appreciation and I will be sure to share your comments with our team.
We very much appreciate the recommendation and hope to see you in the Oakwood Arms Hotel in the near future.

We would be delighted to welcome you back on your next trip.

Kind Regards

Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co. Clare
Tel. 061 719 236
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shannon
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
5.0 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 stars 1,728 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 stars 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shannon Court Hotel
Shannon Court Hotel
#3 of 3 in Shannon
3.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Wood Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Address: Airport Road | Town Centre, Shannon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Shannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Wood Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Hotel with Tudor & old red brick facade, situated 1/4 mile from Shannon town & 1-1/2 miles from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Oak Wood Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Wood Arms Shannon
Hotel Oak Wood Arms

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Wood Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.