We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kingstown House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kingstown House to your Saves list
Kingstown House
Bridge Street, Clifden, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

The B&B itself is pleasant (definitely an older property). Regina and Jim, the owners were very friendly and very helpful on what to do in the area. You can park infront of the B&B on the street. It is well situated just off of the main street.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    16
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
45
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

unless you're averse to genuine hospitality. Regina and Jim were spectacular. I just returned yesterday from a weekend-long family wedding. Since everyone in the family was home for the wedding, for the first time in decades, I had to pay for accommodations in Connemara. (I know, I can hear the teeny violins now!) At any rate, I looked on this website and asked my cousins for recommendations. Both directed me to look at Kingstown House. It is centrally located in the very heart of Clifden; you are literally right around the corner from everything in town. An older building, it is not the Ritz, but it is charming. The rooms (by American standards) are small but we spent very little time in them anyways. There's a very cozy front room downstairs with a fire if you're looking to chillax anyways. The bed was super and we slept like rocks. In the morning (rather late in the morning in fact) Regina was ready for us with a slew of options for breakfast. So accommodating was she that when my cousin informed her the night before that she had wheat allergies, she popped into the shop and purchased some gluten free bread for her breakfast. She then insisted that my cousin take the remainder of the loaf home with her to Dublin so it would not go to waste. Just like staying with family. It will be my first recommendation to friends visiting Ireland for sure.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

A lucky find for us! This b&b was just what we were looking for... and more. Regina and Jim were very friendly, helpful, and generous hosts.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailieboro, Co Cavan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

This was our second time to stay at Kingstown House and again we had an extremely positive experience. Excellent value for money with lovely comfortable beds, nice rooms, and the breakfast couldn’t have been better – lots of options, locally sourced produce and home baking with plenty of good coffee. The owners, Jim and Regina, are the kindest, friendliest people you will ever encounter. They were a great source of local information and went above and beyond the call of duty to cater for our special requests. The guesthouse is in a great location too just at one end of the main street and Clifden is an ideal base from which to explore the many delights of Connemara. We are looking forward to our next trip already!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

This is central to everything in Clifden, right in the middle of town. Good food. nice rooms, comfortable beds and helpful owners.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Stayed there at weekend...if you are looking for super modern then you are in wrong place...its a lovely, relaxed and friendly B+B full of charm.
Gorgeous, freshly cooked breakfast in the morning with as much coffee and tea as we could wish for :)
Owners were lovely but not intrusive...is centrally located and would recommend...ssshhh its reasonably priced too :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Jim was painting the outside of the property when we arrived, Regina welcomed us and Jim carried our cases upstairs. The property is very central to Clifden and restaurants and pubs/bars, however our room was not noisy as it was at the back of the house. Breakfast was made to order and quite extensive.
My mother in law had asked us to bring a loaf of soda bread back from Ireland and on asking where the nearest bakery was where I may purchase a loaf Regina offered to bake the loaf as she was baking anyway!
Thank you Regina and Jim for a lovely stay in Clifden

Room Tip: Let Regina and Jim know exactly what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingstown House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingstown House

Address: Bridge Street, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a B&B located within the Town Centre and within easy walking distance of all shops, restaurants and pubs. A long standing family owned B&B - Regina was born and grew up in the house. We take pride in our hospitality and always try to ensure that our guest enjoy their stay. Please ask if we can help out in any way. Kingstown House B&B is located in Clifden, the Capital of Connemara and is wonderful central base for touring all of Connemara. All the bedrooms are located on the first or second floors. If you prefer a room on the first floor, kindly let us know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Kingstown House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingstown House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.