We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Guesthouse, great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dun Ri Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Dun Ri Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dun Ri Guesthouse
Clifden, Clifden, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Guesthouse, great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here one night B&B on a weekend trip to Co Galway.
It's situated right on the middle of the little town of Clifden, a short walk to everywhere in the town.
We were met on arrival by the owner and shown the drawing room with Tea/Coffee making facilities, a full library of books for guests use, and lots of soft furnishings for relaxing. Next door was the breakfast room, clean bright and set up for the morning.
Our room then was a twin ensuite - bright and airy, tastefully decorated and clean. The colours and solid wood furniture giving a feel of luxury. The room also had a TV, which we had no need for but it was good to have if wanted.
We wanted to visit the beach and the owner very kindly gave us a map and directions to Dogs Bay, only a short 10 min drive away. Beautiful beach, spent a lovely couple hours there before taking a nice drive around the coast. Clifden is beautiful, really worth a visit.
Breakfast the next morning was lovely. Friendly and quick service with lots of choice - full cooked breakfast, cereal, fruit, pancakes and cheeses.
Check out then was quick as we had to get going again to Galway City.
All in all - beautiful property, lovely owners, great location and outstanding value. If I'm staying in Clifden again then this will be my first choice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    21
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
51
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Spent one night. Loved the location, the room, the breakfast. Michael went above and beyond to help, beginning with carrying up my suitcase to helping me change out the fuse in the cigarette lighter of the car so I could use the GPS. Aileen made a delicious breakfast. The linens smelled very clean. And it was nice to walk to the restaurants. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed here for four nights and it was superb. Aileen and Micheal do everything to make you stay a wonderful one. There is an abundance of choice for breakfast and the rooms are spacious with a lot of light. Two minutes from all the pubs and restaurants but quiet and peaceful. Will go back again as soon as possible.

Just a few restaurant recommendations. Would go to Cullane instead of Mitchell's, a more relaxing place where the Irish stew is enormous, a huge bubbling hot bowl that is the perfect meal to end a day of walking. For something other than pub food, would try Basmatti, at the end of Market St., fine, fine Indian food as a change. But if pub food is your pleasure, try the meat and Guinness stew at Guy's.

Have fun!
Roger

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I'm sure what else to say. It was a nice guesthouse. We're slowly learning the ins and outs of B&Bs and I would say this was more like a hotel than a traditional B&B. There are 13 rooms and all require the ability to walk up stairs. We were in room 8, which was just fine.

The owner, Michael, was pleasant enough and helped with luggage when we arrived. Gave us the keys and a little book about the area, pointing out which pubs had live music.

The room itself was fine. We had a double + single and it was spacious enough for the two of us. There were some gross things on the walls though (looked like nose pickings)...so the cleaning folks need to work on that. Beds were a comfortable sleep though.

Bathroom was a standalone shower with good heat and pressure. The bathroom had shampoo and small bars of soap available. The nicest thing was a little shelf in the bathroom to put all your toiletries! And a little stool as well that was helpful.

We stayed 2 nights and everything was cleaned and made up on the second morning.

Breakfast was good. Made to order full Irish, but you can order only what you would actually like to eat. There was also a lounge, but no one was ever in it.

The guesthouse was only 2 blocks from the main town and there was free off street parking.

Would I stay again? Yes! But I think we prefer the smaller B&Bs. Unfortunately, those are harder to find right in town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramallah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Basically, a large B&B or small guest house. The rooms were a little small but better than most B&Bs. The front desk staff (owner?) Michael (?) was friendly and helpful. He even carried my heavy suitcase (70 pounds) up the stairs.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We have stayed at Dun Ri on a number of ocassions and it's always fantastic. To be honest, I would put it before hotels in the town - have stayed in one of the hotels and would by far prefer Dun Ri. It's central, clean, and great value. Breakfast is great with a nice variety to choose from. Would highly recommend Dun Ri for your stay in Clifden.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed here in May and extended our stay from two days to five! Wonderful place, very friendly and helpful hosts, very comfortable room in a great location. We loved the town and its pubs. We took some great hikes in the mountains. We would go back to Dun Ri tomorrow if we could! Breakfast were delicious every morning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dun Ri Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dun Ri Guesthouse

Address: Clifden, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal treatment—without paying a king’s ransom. Tucked away in our quiet corner of Clifden, we offer a tranquil haven of rich comfort and classic Irish hospitality—a peaceful refuge just 93 steps from the vibrant buzz of Clifden Town Centre. It’s the ideal location for you and your family to relax and recharge after a day exploring the breath-taking Connemara mountains and seascapes or touring Ireland’s beautiful West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Dun Ri Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dun Ri Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.