We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great view, a pleasant stay, lovely hostess ... a truly Irish B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay View Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay View Bed and Breakfast
Westport Road, Clifden, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Viet Nam
1 review
“A great view, a pleasant stay, lovely hostess ... a truly Irish B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

The garden and the view of the bay in front of window was amazing!!! The room was clean, quiet, comfortable with TV, hair dryer, kettle and tea making facilities with biscuits, milk, tea, sugar and coffee. Irish breakfast was lovely. Bridie helped us felt like staying home during our stay in Bay View. For sure we will stay in Bay View in our next trip to Clifden.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

On arrival I could see Bridie watching out for us, after a warm welcome we were given a choice of rooms and we took the lower room at the front overlooking the Bay, and unlike some B&B's you can see the bay clearly from the front of the house. Room was comfortable Clean with tv, hairdryer and tea making facilities with biscuits, milk and tea/coffee laid on. Breakfast had a good selection and the Irish Breakfast was lovely. Great view from the breakfast room that resulted in you staying looking out for a while. Had the addition of a visitors lounge to sit and relax and in my case look at a football match during which Bridie brought in some tea and biscuits at 1/2 time. Overall a very enjoyable stay, good hostess and on my next visit I will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genova
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

We travelled Ireland for two weeks changing B&B every day.
This was the only that disappoint our expectation.
Room was very impersonal and not clean. Breakfast too and the price was out of step with the quality.....

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

We stayed one night at this B & B. Its in a nice area with a nice view but our room had a few problems. When we were shown our room the first thing I noticed was a water bottle cap on our bed. Later we found black hairs around the water kettle. The supposed great electric shower was not so great after all. The water would fluctuate from hot to cold, mostly to cold, so we ended up using the manual shower. Breakfast was ok. The hostess was ok. Place all in all was ok.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

Bridie is a warm wonderful host! The B&B us out the Skye Road just a few minutes from busy (always under construction) downtown Clifden. I had room number 5 - a large warm room on the lower level. The room had tea making, a hari dryer, tv and a new bath. The lounge has a wonderful view of the bay. Typical Irish breakfast. Bridie had great suggestions for driving routes and other off the path things to see.

  • Liked — Bridie and the view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

The Bay View B&B is situated on a "main road", although not that many cars pass by. The view on the bay is indeed spectacular (we just missed the sunset) and the hostess is very nice. Bridie helped us a lot when we were experiening problems with our car. She gladly offered to use her phone to call the company (without charging us anything!) and she helped us looking up the right number and translating (We don't know that much about cars and especially not in English/Irish).
The room was clean, although a bit dated, but that didn't bother us. The bahroom was spotless. We had a carefree stay there.

  • Liked — friendly owner, clean
  • Disliked — room a bit dated
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2006

The hostess was very friendly and treated us wonderfully even though she was expecting her son's homecoming from years in the States. The rooms are small but clean, quiet and cozy. The second entrance is very nice for not disturbing others. The gardens around the home and the view of the bay was amazing! The hostess recommened a restaraunt, Fritzgerals, that became the best meal we have ever ate. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — The freshest fish ever can be had at Fitzgeralds
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay View Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Bed and Breakfast

Address: Westport Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Also Known As:
Bay View b&b
Bay View Hotel Clifden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay View Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bay View Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list