We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B in Clifden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ben View House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ben View House
Save
You added Ben View House to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Bridge Street, Clifden, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 46 Clifden B&B and Inns
Petoskey, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B in Clifden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

There really are many very good B&Bs across Ireland. In our estimation the Ben View House is on our "must stay" list on our next trip. The reason for this is 1. The quaintness of the rooms 2. Its location in the heart of Clifden and 3. The personality of the owner, Desmond. All this and his breakfasts were terrific, too.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    23
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
30
86
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Commerce Township, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Lovely room, centrally located in Clifden. My husband & I didn't have a reservation, but we were off-season and they were very accommodating. Our host, Desmond, learned our names straight off, and greeted us warmly by name every time we saw him. Wonderful breakfast. It's a lovely town, and our stay here helped make it complete. Lovely dining room, filled with silver tea sets. You wouldn't go wrong here.

Room Tip: We payed a little less for a room up in the back (30 v.35 eur/pp).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Ben View for 2 nights as part of our tour through NW Ireland. During our 2 week-long trip we stayed exclusively in B&Bs, mostly in small villages. Our stay at the Ben View was one of the best. It is located within the main part of Clifden--so there are plenty of pubs, shops, and restaurants within easy walking distance. The room we stayed in was very nice--clean, comfortable bed and large enough to have room for our suticases, etc. Eileen was a wonderful host--she gave us great advice on places to go for a run and enjoy a beer and music at the local pubs. Breakfast was great--it was made to order every morning. Overall it was a great stay and one of the highlights of our Irish Holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Bay, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our night at Ben View House, from the immediate proximity to all the action in downtown Clifden to the lovely room, to the scrumptious and magnificently appointed breakfast! The fresh pancakes were especially delicious!! Eileen and Des were entirely engaging and helpful in enabling us to find our way around town. We tavelled all around the Irish countryside this trip, and Ben View was the best B&B we came across!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Gort, Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I arrived last saturday evening for a one night stay in Benview. Des met me in the lobby and I was made feel at home immediately. Delightful room with all that I needed. A breakfast that was scrumptous and freshly made pancakes too. It is so lovely to be made feel at home and to have someone welcome you, this is what being Irish is all about. Thank you for a lovely stay Des, you really know how to treat guests. Regards Enid

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Everything about our stay with Eileen and Desmond in July was first-rate and fun. The exterior and the common areas are lovely. Check-in was easy and informative. Their location is perfect for exploring Clifden and is almost next door to the bike shop where we had our rentals reserved. Our room (#8) was spacious and well-laid out and the bed was by far the most comfortable on our whole trip. Our hosts went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed or could want. We actually changed our plans to stay an extra night, we were having such a terrific time.

Room Tip: We didn't see the others but were really happy with #8. Quiet, bright and well laid out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Ben View is a family run B&B in the town of Clifden, I can assure that here you will be given a warm fàilte (welcome).
The house dates back to the 1840's and its character and charm is beautifully maintained.
Our room was warm and cosy, perfect after a day exploring the mountains and shores of Connemara. Breakfast was hearty and prepared to a very high standard, beyond the usual B&B fare.

The proprietor, Eileen, takes huge pride in running the house which has been in her family for several generations. She was happy to sit with us after breakfast and explain her family history and tell us more about the area so that we could make the most of our short stay.
The B&B is set just off the main street in Clifden with some nice pubs offering traditional Irish music just round the corner.

We only stayed for one night but feeling as welcome and well looked after as we did we would have happily stayed a lot longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ben View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben View House

Address: Bridge Street, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben View House 3*
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben View House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.