We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GReat B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ben View House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ben View House
Save
You added Ben View House to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Bridge Street, Clifden, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 46 Clifden B&B and Inns
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GReat B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed just for one night, but must admit that the B&B is superb: the house is very nice and cosy and the owner is welcoming and of an incredible kindness. The breakfast is delicious. Moreover the location is just perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    23
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
30
86
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Faversham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Our wonderful honeymoon week in beautiful Ireland was made perfect by our final 2 nights with a stay in Ben View House Clifden. Although all the previous hotels we visited were very good, Ben View outshone them all. A beautiful spotless bedroom with such lovely antique furniture, the bed as soft as a cloud. A breakfast so large - I should have been ashamed of it! and all this for 80 euros per night per double room. The dining room is a treasure of polished silver teapots, old family photographs and pretty plates and what not. On leaving (with regret) our host Eileen presented us with a parcel. Upon opening, we found 2 Irish, decorative mugs and a wedding card. We were thrilled and touched to say the least. It`s the little kindnesses that matter in life, (like the posies of rosies on our bedside table too). A pleasure to right this review as unfortunately I have used T.A on more than one occasion to warn others to avoid a particular establishment like the plague!

Room Tip: we were in room 8. Superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I spent a couple of times in this wonderful B&B in Clifden. Eileen and her brother are so friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent, especially the pancakes. The atmosphere is familiar and the rooms are very comfortable with a nice shower. It was brilliant to stay there for a couple of nights, because I rode the famous Connemara Trail (horseback) in Ireland and this B&B is located in the heart of Clifden and close to the beach in Ballyconneely where the horses spend the nights. To everyone who wants to spend a very good time in Clifden, I can recommend this B&B 100% !!! I'll be back, soon !!!

Best regards from Germany,
Linda

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We visited the Charming Ben View House for the second time recently and was greeted warmly by both Eileen and her Brother Desmond.
Ben View house has charming atmosphere and an exellent location in the town center and we give it our best recommendations.
I cannot imagine a trip to Ireland without a stay at Ben View House :-) so to you Eileen and Desmond we will see you next time.

Greetings Christina and Magnus, Denmark

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesi
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I spent just one night in this b&b, but the warm host Ben is so hospital that you feel like at home. Don't miss the tipical irish breakfast prepared by two old ladies which know the secret of iris cuisine. Our room was small but cozy and nice. The dining room is traditional, The position is excellent, at the end of one of the two main streets in Clifden.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Eileen and her brother are perfect hosts.....so friendly and helpful...certainly better than the tourist information office!!!! Lovely comfortable rooms and a delicious breakfast in a charming diningroom filled with antiques and speacial things. Eileen's pancake and fruit breakfast is a winner. Easy walking distance to eateries and shops.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for one night in September. It was lovely. Eileen and her brother could not have been more helpful. The room was comfortable and the breakfast superb. I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone looking for a charming B&B. The only issue is that there is only onstreet parking but, for us, it wasn't a problem. As it is located in the town centre, it is easy to find and within walking distance of a good array of restaurants and pubs.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ben View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben View House

Address: Bridge Street, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben View House 3*
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben View House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.