We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B situated in the most beautiful part of Ireland.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillside Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillside Lodge
Save
You added Hillside Lodge to your Saves list
Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 46 Clifden B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful B&B situated in the most beautiful part of Ireland.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Tastefully decorated rooms. Relaxing enviroment both in- and outdoors. Close to all attractions in Connemara. The owners are service minded and the breakfast is very good.
Spend evening with dinner in Clifden and then go back to enjoy a cup of tea and a interesting book in the sofa at the B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    29
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
161
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at the Hillside Lodge for the third year in a row.
It's because of the beautiful location, the house itself, the furniture and, of course, because of the hosts.
This year, we had the Deluxe room with private TV-Lounge (satellite-Tv). And a very nice shower in the bathroom.
As always, Ruth keeps the house very clean and everything has its place.
Breakfastmenu has lots of choices and the pancakes are so yummie!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiumicello
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

There was a messup with our booking. We had booked through their website at about 9am the last available room (a twin) for the same day, and when we arrived about 5pm we were suroprised to see the sign "vacancies" and to be shown into a double room. Wehen pointing out that we had booked a twin, but only because doubles were no longer available, we were assured that both options were available and kept the double.
One hour later however the couple who had booked the last double - and for whom we had been mistaken - arrived and the mixup came out. Well. This other couple were our friends, travelling separately, we had arranged to meet there and they had booked before us... so, we were 2 Italian couples with similar names, I can understand they confused us and as we were among friends the room swap was no problem at all. But it did bother me that the B&B hat not taken notice of our booking at all and if anyone had enquired before our arrivl we would have found no available room (despite confirmation e-mail and all).
That was a shame because for the rest the B&B is really pretty, in a lovely position, recently and stylishly decorated, breakfast is particularily good (a lovely buffet of fresh fruit and cereals and yogurts, and several choices of cooked breakfast, all yummy) and staff is very friendly.
Our room anyway was also not great. Pretty and with a lovely view but quite small and lacking furniture: beside the bed we only had one chair, some hooks on the wall and a shelf with very little free space beside kettle and cups.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at Hillside Lodge for 3 nights in August 2013 and had an amazing time. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is just amazing: try the smoked salmon which they get from Connemara Smokehouse!! It's truly amazing! on the buffet you can help yourself to fresh fruit salad and yoghurt as well as cereals and orange juice. The house is decorated with U2 memorabilia and all rooms are individually and lovingly decorated. Our room had a decent size with a very comfortable bed and everything was very clean. Even though it was fully booked, it was quiet. A great addition to the B&B is also Ella, their friendly labrador - she can be taken out for walks and is very well trained. However, she usually stays in the owners part of the house (which is good for people who are afraid of dogs). Clifden itself is a lovely town near the Connemara National park and the location of the B&B is great for trips to the sea as well as the Park and hills (hiking).
All in all, I can highly recommend this B&B and will definitely book a room again when coming back for another (longer) holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

On our drive into Clifden through Connemara, we took a few pictures of a place that reminded me of a Rush song, The Way the Wind Blows. Funny how music became the dominate theme of our visit to Clifden. We arrived at this perfect B&B, run by Ruth and Stuart Morgan, around dinner time and were greeted by Pamela, the familyʼs Au Pair. We were immediately impressed with the modern feel and well run nature of the home and my wife commented that this was her favorite so far. We settled in and then drove up to see the views of the Atlantic on Sky Road about two miles up the road. Very nice. The local music scene at J Conneely's Pub was terrific. The morning started early with a scheduled 0830 breakfast where we met Ruth and had a delicious meal. Afterwards, Ruth provided bicycles for us to ride down to the beach and around the town. Upon our return, I met briefly with Ruth's husband, Stuart Morgan. In his other profession, he is the guitar technician for U2ʼs Adam Clayton and works with many other bands. Currently he is involved with the Killerʼs and their tour. Very down to earth gentlemen. The B&B is adorned with many framed historic events in his life with U2 and other bands. Of unique distinction, is his stand in performance, in place of Adam Clayton, at a concert in Sydney in 1993. Adam was bed-ridden and Stuart had to make it happen. It was fun to meet with him and discuss music. This B&B was extraordinary find and we appreciated both Ruth and Stuart hospitality and attention to perfection. This is THE place to pick when considering a B&B in Clifden.

Room Tip: The Beatles room is very interesting. We chose the northeast room with extra TV/reading room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hubby and I have been fortunate enough to have stayed with Ruth, Stuart, Molly, Ella and Sparkles on several occasions. Every time we do, the experience just gets better and better!!

As many, many previous reviewers have pointed out, the standard set in all areas is exceptional. In fact, I challenge anyone to find a better B&B anywhere!!!

The breakfast dining experience is just exquisite. Ruth outdoes herself each morning with a delicious array of fresh salad, homemade muesli, marinated prunes, organic yogurt and honey, etc. and that's just the buffet. Ruth also provides a very tempting porridge with cinnamon and honey on request. I opted for maple syrup instead and it was yummy!!

Wait until you see the wonderful cooked breakfasts on offer! There is so much choice that even the most discerning will have difficulty picking just one!! I particularly recommend the pancakes, and the poached egg with homemade potato cake. I overheard a lovely couple commenting that the vegetarian option is gorgeous too!

Hillside Lodge is such a warm, inviting, calm home-from-home that you will struggle to leave! We love our stays there and really enjoy chatting with Ruth and her charming, beautifully mannered daughter, Molly. Ella and Sparkles (gorgeous cat!) ensure that any animal lovers get their animal fix, which really helps if you are missing your own much loved furry friends while travelling!

Many other reviewers have discussed the amazing decor and memorabilia but seeing is believing. Ruth and Stuart have done an outstanding job creating an interesting and informative environment which music lovers will really enjoy checking out. But fret not, you don't need to be passionate about music to be able to relax in the sumptuous surroundings provided, both in your room and in the stunning guest lounge.

If you are travelling to the Galway area you really should come to Clifden, and you definitely must stay with Ruth and family!! It will be the highlight of your holiday!!

Our only complaint...it's too difficult to leave!! :)

Room Tip: If you have special requests, just ask...Ruth will do her best to help in anyway. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My son n I stayed there just for a night. If we would've known better would've planned for more! Ruth is a lady,A lady with taste! She is a great cook,immaculate taste of decor and great music fan.Their dog Ella kept my boy from missing our dog back home. Great location,great food,great people absolutely splendid! Must stay at least two nights here to enjoy Sky Road,Clifden.

Room Tip: Best place in Clifden.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Lodge

Address: Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Bed and Breakfast located on the scenic Sky Road, five minutes from Clifden town. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillside Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.