We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B & B in a Beautiful Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Mist House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Mist House
Save
You added Sea Mist House to your Saves list
Market Hill, Clifden, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 46 Clifden B&B and Inns
Coquitlam, BC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful B & B in a Beautiful Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Sea Mist House is my favourite kind of B & B as it is an older home, tastefully decorated and with a sense that it is truly lived in by a welcoming and gracious hostess. As other reviewers have pointed out, Sea Mist House is ideally located in Clifden, which is itself very attractive. It's an easy walk to the centre of town but still within the quiet part of town and just "a stone's throw" from the ocean. Our room was on one of the upper floors so a bit of a "hike" up the narrow stairs which we have come to expect in Irish B & B's. Our room itself was spacious and as beautifully and thoughtfully decorated as the rest of the house. We did have a sloping roof in the en suite but it simply added to the B & B's charm. And one of us is very tall! Also as noted in other reviews, and this is very important for me, the breakfast served in the conservatory was delicious with a good selection of fresh fruit and a variety of breakfasts which I believe we preordered. All in all, our stay at Sea Mist House is memorable for the happy time we spent there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    13
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
63
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is a large place with various levels and rooms but we felt as it we were in our own wing. Our room was huge with a comfortable king size bed. There is a lovely guest lounge with a fireplace and a library half way up the stairs. The breakfast was very good and served in their breakfast room/conservatory. A very easy walk into town, just up the road, but it was quiet in the area. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at Sea Mist for two nights in September 2013. The house is located right near the town center so park your car and walk to the pubs. The house is great and the breakfasts were great. Our only complaint was we were on the third floor and its up a narrow staircase. The roof is slanted there and it was easy to hit your head getting in and out of bed. But we were advised on making the reservation that the room was on that floor. Will book earlier to get a room on a lower floor

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Hills, KS
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Charming setting -- lovely, spacious rooms with a very gracious hostess! Breakfast was delicious with a nice variety of selections.
Overall a very delightful stay!
This part of Ireland is especialky beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our second visit to Sea Mist House and we were not disappointed. Sheila was just the same as 3 years ago. We felt so at home - our same room and the breakfasts were perfect. All fresh produce and lots of fruit. So handy to the town of Clifden where there is plenty to do. Lots of good coffee places and craft/art galleries to visit. Eating is a pleasure and usually with good music. We will return. thank you Sheila for another memorable stay.

Room Tip: We have stayed at the front of the house on both our stays (close to small road) and slept well even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were visiting friends in Clifden and booked at the last minute. Shiela went out of her way to accommodate us and we had a beautiful room with a view of the sea. The house is really lovely and the bedroom was perfect. Sea Mist House is in a perfect location also, just a minute from the centre of Clifden but also very quiet. Breakfast the next morning was one of the best we've had with a great selection. We only stayed one night and would have liked to stay longer and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We spent only 1 night there, but would like to stay a bit longer. Nicest staff, delicious breakfast, huge rooms with high ceelings.. Could be a bit tricky with a parking, but there are some 3 spaces in front of the entrance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Mist House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Mist House

Address: Market Hill, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Mist House is a Georgian style family home built in the 1820s, when Clifden was first founded by John D'Arcy, and was acquired by the current proprietor's grandfather in the early 1900s. The house has recently been completely refurbished but still retains its warmth and character. It is listed in "Best of Bridgestone" and various other well-known travel guides. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Mist House Hotel Clifden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Mist House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.