We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Shelties” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Mist House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Mist House
Save
You added Sea Mist House to your Saves list
Market Hill, Clifden, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 51 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shetland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Shelties”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We always enjoy our holidays driving around the west of Ireland. However no trip would be complete without a visit to Clifden and a stay at Sea Mist House. The accommodation is excellent with great attention to detail and the best breakfast around - especially the Pancakes!Look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    13
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
64
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The location of the Sea Mist House is great--it's right off the main street, so you are close enough to everything but don't get the pub crowd noise. The rooms were spacious and clean and the place is very charming. Breakfast was delicious! Great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We arrived in town without reservations and were lucky enough to catch a local shop owner, who was just closing - she recommended this gem to us. Sea Mist's sitting room with its turf fire, incredibly clean and spacious rooms, lovely conservatory with full-service breakfast, and Sheila's warm but unobtrusive hosting style blew away any negative preconceptions we might have had about the bed-and-breakfast experience. Sea Mist is also within walking distance of great shops and pubs -- this is definitely THE place to stay in Clifden!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely lovey, charming, and perfect location. We spent the evening here with friends and had a wonderful stay. Rooms are spacious and well equipped. The owners were quite helpful, accommodating, and friendly. Breakfast in the sunroom was a perfect way to start the day. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and highly recommend to anyone visiting Clifden.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here for one night while touring Connemara. Beautiful house, perfect location near shops, restaurants and pubs. Breakfast was one of the best we have ever had and a great selection to suit everybody. Highly recommended! We relaxed in front of the turf fire in the warm and cosy sitting room. Less than 100metres from the town square and pub life/entertainment, next door to Bank of Ireland and across the road from SuperValu. We'll be back soon and that's a promise. Regards, L, M & D.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We spend a wonderful night in a cosy and spacious room. There are lovely high ceilings and warm feel to the room, large bathroom, too. Myself and my husband enjoyed sitting at the window seat before we went out for dinner. The night was peaceful and without any noise.

We had a wonderful breakfast in the sun room, eating poached eggs on toast from hens on Shelia`s garden- something delicious. I think these hens have their own blog as well. My husband had American style pancakes, which he said tasted just like his granny`s. Brilliant experience for both of us.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in (no.2) is facing the street, yet it was very quite and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed here for one night after decided to stop at Clifden whilst touring Connemara. Beautiful house which is centrally located near shops, restaurants and pubs. Couldn't wish for a more perfect location. We slept in a lovely room with a window seat to snuggle into. Breakfast was copious and the american pancakes were delicious. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Mist House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Mist House

Address: Market Hill, Clifden, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Mist House is a Georgian style family home built in the 1820s, when Clifden was first founded by John D'Arcy, and was acquired by the current proprietor's grandfather in the early 1900s. The house has recently been completely refurbished but still retains its warmth and character. It is listed in "Best of Bridgestone" and various other well-known travel guides. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Mist House Hotel Clifden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Mist House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.