We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Mist House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Mist House
Save
You added Sea Mist House to your Saves list
Market Hill, Clifden, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 46 Clifden B&B and Inns
Adlikon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“first class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just perfect!
Lovely host, warm welcome, beautiful rooms, tasty breakfast, scrambled egg decorated with eatable lovely flower.
Situated at the end of main road; close to pubs, restaurants, shops and city center.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    13
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
63
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just knocked on the door because it looked so cute. Booked in 80 euros then checked trip adviser to confirm that we had done the right thing. Bingo!!!!
It was perfect and so close to town like out the front door and turn left 10 feet away. Breakfast was so delightful in the conservatory. You look out on the cottage garden. Perfect. Wished we had stayed longer. The hosts made all the difference. You felt at home straight away. Don't go by this one.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Had a lovely stay in this B&B. The owner, who greeted us at the door, couldn't have been nicer! The rooms were very comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding! The woman who served us was so sweet! She came right over and talked with us for a while. I would definitely recommend this place. I will add that there are no elevators (lifts), so if you have heavy luggage or a lot of it, plan on carrying it up a long flight of stairs.

Room Tip: Pack light! No elevators (lifts)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encino, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed with friends for one night in two rooms. This is a very comfortable B&B right in the lovely village of Clifden, an ideal place to stay when visiting Connemara. Rooms are very tidy; space is adequate with small but nicely appointed bathrooms. Breakfast is absolutely wonderful with gardens right outside the glassed-in dining area; a place to linger and start the day in a good mood. Sheila is a super hostess and took good care of us when we made reservations and in directing us to the home, saving us from a disastrous wrong turn. Parking is on street in front--very convenient. A delightful total package and definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This was my second visit to Sea Mist House and I absolutely love the place. Beautiful house, lovely rooms, magic breakfasts - spiced and fresh fruits, natural yoghurt, home-made bread and cereal come as standard, while the delicious hot breakfasts are cooked to order. Scrambled duck eggs and smoked salmon were particular favourites and the meat-eater and the veggie in our group both came away full and smiling every morning!

We stayed 4 nights and the location is hard to beat as a base for exploring the area. It took us just over an hour to drive to the Aran Islands ferry (Rossaveel) in one direction and slightly more to Croagh Patrick in the other direction. We found excellent hill-walking and gorgeous beaches within easy reach, and also took in the Delphi Mountain Resort spa which isn’t too far off either and well worth a visit. When we felt like taking it easier we had lovely strolls along the sea-front road, which starts in front of the house, or made use of the cosy sitting room with it's roaring peat fire. It's only a 2 min walk to the town centre and we found a good choice of nice pubs and restaurants.

The owners are lovely and very knowledgeable about the area and I think their B&B rates are very good value compared to other accommodation in the area. I honestly don’t have anything negative to say about this place - a truly wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a lovely B&B best one I have ever stayed in. You will never want to leave they are so welcoming and helpful! Breakfast was brilliant every day and the rooms were perfect. Best B&B in Clifon... Also Clifon is a perfect town to stay in, if you want a long weekend away in the country with good music and lovely people :)

Room Tip: all rooms are perfect :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Sea Mist House is a lovely place. Our room was large and quiet, despite facing the street. Breakfast in the conservatory was excellent. The rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Mist House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Mist House

Address: Market Hill, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Mist House is a Georgian style family home built in the 1820s, when Clifden was first founded by John D'Arcy, and was acquired by the current proprietor's grandfather in the early 1900s. The house has recently been completely refurbished but still retains its warmth and character. It is listed in "Best of Bridgestone" and various other well-known travel guides. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Mist House Hotel Clifden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Mist House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.