We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous house and hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mallmore Country House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mallmore Country House
Save
You added Mallmore Country House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Ballyconneely Road, Clifden, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 46 Clifden B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A fabulous house and hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We only planned to stay one night in Clifden, but our hosts were so great and the house and grounds so beautiful and we were recommended so many great sights, restaurants and bars (by our hosts) we had to stay another night.

Be sure to take a walk to the "Bishops Bench" and down to the water's edge, it's a beautiful view.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
111
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is a wonderful House. Lovely decorated and a lot of fascinate details. We love it. It’s not only the house, the whole area is wonderful.
From our room we had a beautiful view to the garden and the bay.
The guest lounge is huge and in a wonderful style. It’s like a journey through the time. You would like to stay hours for hours.
The breakfast is in a similar room and a really big selection and it taste all wonderful.
We have absolutely enjoyed the time in Mallmore House.
Kathleen, Alan and her daughter are wonderful and very helpful hosts.
If we come back only to Mallmore House
Thank you very much
The best wishes from Petra & Patrik

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is definately a hidden gem worth finding. It is nice and small 7/8 rooms in total. Nothing is too much trouble for this family of osts. Shiobhan was a very bubbly person and a font of information. She was so good at providing maps and suggestions to the guests. Thebreakfasts were delicious and the grounds were really lovely.

Room Tip: Room number 5 was where we spent two nights and had views on to the harbour. We thenmoved to room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

After a warm greeting by Siobhon we were shown to room #2 and stood amazed by the glorious technicolor view of the grounds and bay out of the bay windows - flowers, lawn, walled garden, ruins of an old stone cottage - very pleasant. We walked the grounds from the vegetable garden to the bay and even out to the "Bishop's Bench" looking out to sea and were impressed with the obvious tender loving care put into the caretaking. Cleanliness and amenities were topnotch and breakfast was served in an elegant setting in what apparently was the old chapel, with a comfortable, sunny ambiance that made our day. We got greta advice for optimizing our time in getting around to the absolute best spots to visit. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed at Mallmore House for 2 nights in May and enjoyed every moment. We had room #2 which has that perfect view over the gardens and the bay, with 2 armchairs perfectly situated in the bay window. Kathleen and Siobhan are lovely; charming, helpful and great cooks. If you are driving the Connemara loop, Siobhan will provide a map and suggestions. We weren't planning to drive down to Roundstone but did on her recommendation and it such a beautiful drive. Breakfasts are delicious and their soda bread was the best of the trip!

Room Tip: Get one with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

A place with so much History and dedicated owners with family help. The reading area a large room with so much history and the Breakfast area which was the Chapel. Our room so large with a lounge and bay window view out onto the Garden. Also very good Breakfast. Owners happy to share the past with you and you must read about the Home in your room welcome book

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We enjoyed a 3-night stay at the Mallmore in May. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a large window overlooking the back garden and bay. Bountiful breakfasts kept us filled until dinnertime. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mallmore Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mallmore Country House

Address: Ballyconneely Road, Clifden, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mallmore Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mallmore Country House is a 4 star, family run Bed and Breakfast. It is listed as a Historic Home and dates back to the late 1700′s. Mallmore House is surrounded by 35 acres of ancient woodland, which is teeming with native wildlife and offers walks to the shores of Clifden Bay. Our home provides luxurious accommodation with individually decorated, spacious rooms, with beautiful views over Clifden Bay and our gardens. Our award winning breakfasts are served in our elegant dining room to give you a perfect start to your day. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mallmore Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.