We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place to stay in Clifden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mallmore Country House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mallmore Country House
Save
You added Mallmore Country House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Ballyconneely Road, Clifden, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 46 Clifden B&B and Inns
Gambrills, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Charming place to stay in Clifden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Mallmore Country House in May. The room was well appointed and spacious with a large bay window overlooking the manicured lawn. The breakfast was exemplary both mornings. Kathleen and her daughter were wonderful - they also provided great recommendations for an excellent place to eat in Clifden.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
111
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

I try to get to Clifden whenever I'm in Ireland, but this was my first stay at Mallmore House. My son and I stayed in room #3, with two single beds. While not overly large, there was room enough and the bay sitting window looked out over the lawn and the river beyond - terrific view. The bathroom had a nice, large shower. The grounds are extremely nice and well maintained; secluded but only a 15 minute walk into town. The breakfast room is bright and the menu extensive and well-prepared. Best of all, however, are the owners and family. They were very helpful in accommodating a late arrival and in making us feel extremely welcome. This is what a everyone's ideal of a B&B in Ireland looks like,

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Mallmore Country House was a perfect base for our exploration of Connemara on our recent trip to Ireland. We couldn't have dreamed of better accommodations, with delicious breakfast and a room looking out over the gardens and Clifden Bay. Kathleen was wonderfully enthusiastic and helpful in arranging for me to go riding while I was there, which led to one of my best experiences of the whole trip--getting to gallop a Connemara pony down the beach! I would happily recommend Mallmore to anyone visiting the area, because I know they will have a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Recently had a perfect 2-day stay at Mallmore House. Your hosts Alan & Kathleen were wonderful, the house is charming and sits on a beautiful property overlooking Clifden Harbor. The rooms have a big window that looks over the property and the water. Breakfast was prepared with skill and care. If you're looking to stay in the area, you won't find anything to top Mallmore House.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Wonderful B&B with amazing view of Clifden bay. Make sure you get a room facing the garden, the view is amazing.
Got a very warm welcome and the owners were very helpful.
Two small negatives, the smaller room looking into the car park, while being perfectly comfortable, does not have the wahoo factor of garden facing rooms.
Breakfast was good (very very nice homemade scones!), coffee could have been better.
Would definitely recommend and will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Beautiful house, delicately restored and maintained. Room was stunning with original old world features. Beautiful gardens and a super kind friendly family. Breakfast was to die for - and we are foodies!!! You would never get breakfast of such quality in a hotel!!! Hot stewed rhubarb poured over my granola with yogurt followed by poached eggs, salmon and then a slice of lemon drizzle cake (baked that morning by Siobhan). To die for!!!!! And as for the value - these guys have gotten it all right. Other guesthouses/hotels - come stay here and take note! That's how it's done.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed here on a recent trip to Ireland. I had almost given up on B&Bs as the attitude at most places seemed to be "it's cheap - don't expect much". However, I am glad to report that this place is different. Not only is it great value for money, it is professionally run by a team who seem to care. Even to the point where they post a little notice beside the shower telling you that the hot water takes a while to arrive - I am sure 99% of B&Bs would just leave you to figure it out yourself as you stand there cold, confused and frustrated.
I'm not sure what it's like when completely full but there were some other guests there when we stayed and we didn't hear a thing, slept very well.
Keep up the good work Mallmore Country House !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mallmore Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mallmore Country House

Address: Ballyconneely Road, Clifden, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mallmore Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mallmore Country House is a 4 star, family run Bed and Breakfast. It is listed as a Historic Home and dates back to the late 1700′s. Mallmore House is surrounded by 35 acres of ancient woodland, which is teeming with native wildlife and offers walks to the shores of Clifden Bay. Our home provides luxurious accommodation with individually decorated, spacious rooms, with beautiful views over Clifden Bay and our gardens. Our award winning breakfasts are served in our elegant dining room to give you a perfect start to your day. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mallmore Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.