We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple & comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Foyles Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Foyles Hotel to your Saves list
Foyles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main St., Clifden, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Simple & comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

I was part of a large-ish group that descended on Foyles for a wedding in mid September. Myself and two friends shared a family room up on the second floor - which had 3 single beds & a double bed. More than perfect for what we needed (including the exercise associated with climbing stairs clearly not good if you have limited movement etc). The room was super large, 2 windows (lots of light), over looked the street which got a bit noisey (but highly likely it was some of the other guests associated with the wedding, not the locals). The room had a door which could be used to close off the room for some privacy but you needed to open it to get tot he bathroom. No mini fridge. Our shower was a bit weak, but our other friends said they had no complaints about theirs. Hotel breakfast was great, though I couldn't stay there longer than 2 nights or I'd be fat as a house from it - full Irish & croissants & cereal & juice.. nom nom nom! Parking - not onsite, all on the street - there are parking meters & restrictions out front (not sure on how strict the parking cops are). Free parking in the nearby streets or just down the hill in the free council parking area. Bar downstair was fine, girl staffing it was over her head with a handful of customers & their orders, didn't cope well when the other 15 people showed up. Hopefully she was new & has mastered it now..

FYI - Irish tap water is a bit special, I suggest if you aren't local, buy shampoo products when you get there and they may be produced with local pH balances in mind i.e. they may rinse out slightly easier (yes, this may seem petty, but when you have a lot of hair & 3 girls are trying to get their hair done for a wedding it's important to meeting time frames!)

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    74
    19
    9
    8
See reviews for
20
77
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

We stayed here due to a wedding we were attending near by. The rooms were clean and comfortable, nothing flash, but really not a problem unless you were expecting 5 star luxury. Breakfast was good and brought out quickly. Absolutely no complaints from our stay.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

The hotel is right in the centre of clifden which is a stunning place.
The bedrooms are a bit dated and could do with an update.
The hotel bar is very funky and isn't what you'd expect from looking at the rest of the hotel.
There was great music(more suited to youger people) the nite we were there.
The breakfast was really nice.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

....then this hotel may appeal to you. There is absolutely no sound insulation in the hotel. You can hear a pin drop two floors up - not to mention drunken people fumbling with their keys trying to open their doors. We Stayed for one night and it was 4am before we managed to get to sleep and that was only because we wedged our ears with toilet paper! There is a bar there that had a music session going till at least 3am - had to call reception twice to ask to keep the noise down, my requests were ignored. I think this hotel would suit young groups of people who wanna party and would only be going to bed at that time anyway - but for a rmoantic getaway or a family vacation try elsewhere.

Appart from the noise factor - the hotel is really dated, the equipment in our room (phone,tv) was reminiscent of the stephen king film - the Shining . yes that old.

Smell of must throughout the place - especially the bar. lots of water dripping don the walls in the smoking area.

On a postive note - the girl at reception was very friendly and couldnt do enough to help us - good old fashioned irish hospitality.

Botton line - we will never go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

Me and my husband have enjoyed a lovely stay in foyles hotel cliften. We are greeted at reception with a smile. Our room is lovely with big comfy beds and spacious bathrooms and clean. We look forward to our breakfast in foyles as we have inquired because they taste so good is handmade sausages and pudding from the local butcher that are to die for on the breakfast menu . This hotel is run by a local family so you are getting a true welcome when you stay and alot of local infomation and advise with where to go if needed . The marconi restaurant in the hotel is excellant the chef puts on specials depending on seasons so we are always spoilt for choice. We always look forward to dining their when we stay. The hotel has its own bar and outdoor smoking area and they have the best selection of bands playing there. Me and my husband enjoy a delightfull stay

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

we booked foyles provisionally as we had stayed once previously, we asked for a quite room and when we arrrived the room was at the back and very shabby and not very
attractive. after a few hours exploring clifden we came back to have a shower before going out. the hot water didnt work in the shower or bath and the the receptionist told us there was one room that had hot water!! the boiler had been broken but we were not told this on arrival and we left, very dissapointed and would not recommend

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

The hotel, located in the centre of town, is old and charming but in need of an extensive makeover. It is somewhat shabby and showing the signs of neglect. A slight musty smell around the place added to the general sense of antiquity. The room was basic but comfortable and clean The bathroom was also basic yet functional; the liberal use of mastic sealer here adding to the rundown feel of the place.

Despite all of this it has a charming atmosphere that is a nice alternative to the uniform and impersonal feel of a lot of modern hotels. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was really good with an extensive choice of options.

I would definitely recommend this hotel as a base in Clifden as long as you don't mind the somewhat shabby/60's feel.

One tip would be to get a room facing away from the street. We stayed there on Saturday night and we heard the the street (and the room) can get quite noisy.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Foyles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foyles Hotel

Address: Main St., Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Foyles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Connemara’s longest established hotels trading since 1836 and owned by the Foyles for nearly a century.Foyle’s Hotel is situated in the centre of Clifden and is an ideal central point for exploring Connemara.The Hotel’s old world elegance and atmosphere have been gracefully retained through recent renovations, each room being individually decorated and furnished with charm and warmth.The Foyles and their staff offer you a warm welcome and will be happy to assist you in enjoying the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Foyles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foyles Hotel Clifden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foyles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.