We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, central but a little 'tired'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Foyles Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Foyles Hotel to your Saves list
Foyles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main St., Clifden, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Clifden
Dunfanaghy, Ireland
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Comfortable, central but a little 'tired'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

A nice old. friendly hotel but in need of a 'facelift'. If you have heavy suitcases there are no elevators. However it was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. The rooms are also comfortable but the furnishings are old and fixtures are not always intact! It is central and as such has a great location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    74
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
18
72
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

It is a very lovely hotel with it's historical lobby. Breakfast was super. Location is great. Rooms are very clean and spacey. We stayed in a room with street view. It was a little noisy, but it did not bother much. Hotel personnel is perfect.. We enjoyed this hotel and the area before heading to our beautiful Connemara sky drive..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The hotel is a lovely old-fashioned (in the best possible way) hotel with an amazing Irish breakfast and a nice room with a surprisingly big and very comfortable bed. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There is also a lovely cosy bar where you could stay for the evening no problem. The price we paid was excellent seeing as it was coming up to high-season. There are a couple of small negatives: You should be helped with your suitcases to your room on arrival. The key is given to you and you are told 'your room is on the first/second floor'. This is very common in Irish hotels but it doesn't make it right. It's much nicer if the receptionist/concierge accompanies you to your room and shows you the bathroom, coffee/tea etc.
The showers are a bit weak, especially for those of us who like a power shower (which is pretty much everyone these days!)

Room Tip: Choose the first floor if you can get a room there because there is no lift and you will have to go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I stayed at Foyles Hotel with a group of (mainly) seniors in May 2014, including on a Friday and Saturday night. I had been a bit worried beforehand about the possibility of noise on those evenings, given that the hotel is situated in the heart of small town. I need not have worried. We were not disturbed by noise and could not have been more pleased with our stay. The hotel retains the character of an old fashioned country hotel, is family run and completely unspoilt. The location is very convenient, both for evening strolls in the town and for exploring the best North Connemara has to offer. The staff were helpful, friendly and efficient, and the service was second to none. I strongly recommend this hotel, whether you are organising a group or travelling as an individual.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

booked a triple room for a Sunday night , lovely guy on checking in , didn't expect much with booking a triple but room 205 was great , huge 1 single and a double and then other side had 2 singles ! spotlessly clean.
late down for dinner in Marconi restaurant but the nice guy managed to fit us in and we had a fabulous meal , really great food and staff.Mularkeys bar downstairs is realy good, great barman and a lovely relaxed place with great smoking area for the diehards.Breakfast was really good , great choices and a beautiful little courtyard to sit outside in the sunshine. was a reallly nice stay will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

After our drive from the Cliffs of Mohre it was so nice to arrive at Foyles Hotel. We were a party of six.. 2 families. This hotel has family rooms available. We stayed in 115 and my brother in 201. Our room was quite large! 3 twin beds and one double in a nicely divided room. The bath was large also with a very nice shower/tub. Very reasonable too. Price included a full traditional Irish breakfast (kippers too). Very comfortable beds and quiet room. I was a little nervous about noise because the pub had music that night. but didn't hear a thing. Hotel is located on the main square and easy walking distance to everything. Some reviews mention 200 year old... don't worry about it. Very up to date hotel.

Room Tip: we stayed in two family rooms... # 201 and 115...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Charming hotel is a nice town. Old hotel with lots of atmoshphere. Yes, it was a bit worn - but not so much that it was affecting our stay. And the rooms were comfortable.

The breakfast was delicious (those croissants!).

We only had a brief stay, but were happy about it.

Room Tip: Keep in mind there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Foyles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foyles Hotel

Address: Main St., Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Foyles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Connemara’s longest established hotels trading since 1836 and owned by the Foyles for nearly a century.Foyle’s Hotel is situated in the centre of Clifden and is an ideal central point for exploring Connemara.The Hotel’s old world elegance and atmosphere have been gracefully retained through recent renovations, each room being individually decorated and furnished with charm and warmth.The Foyles and their staff offer you a warm welcome and will be happy to assist you in enjoying the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Foyles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foyles Hotel Clifden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foyles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.