We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's the Craic?!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lowry's Bar

Lowry's Bar
Market Street | Galway, Clifden, Ireland
+353 95 21347
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Lowry's Irish Music and Whiskey Bar is Legendary throughout the Connemara region and beyond for its warm & friendly atmosphere, famous Irish Music, inviting character and vibrant mix of both locals and visitors. With live Irish Music 7 nights a week in season, Lowry's is a must for any visitor looking to experience a true Irish pub.
St. Peters
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“What's the Craic?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Looking for a locals' pub with traditional Irish music, we were delighted to stumble upon this gem! Not only did the locals welcome us, but they made it the best pub experience on our 11 day trip across Ireland. Such great memories!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    26
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballaghaderreen, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great craic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We called in Lowrys bar fter someone recommeded it to us and we were definitly not let down. Trad session lots of singing dancing a tourists heaven

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best bar in Clifden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Spent last weekend in Clifden and had the best time in Lowry's bar. We first went in on Friday afternoon around 2pm and although it was quite the bar and the best atmosphere of any of he other bars we had been too. We noted that there was live music there EVERY NIGHT so decided to pop back later and we were not disappointed. The bar was full and we were lucky to get a seat. Great fun, great banter, great pints and super music.

We tried a few other bars out on Saturday but ending up back in Lowry again for the evening. Pub is very clean as were the toilets....I'm not easily impressed but Lowry's really impressed me. I'll be back!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One great pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a clean, friendly, comfortable place to sip a Guinness and listen to Irish music. We visited twice during ours stay in Clifden and recommend it to all.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent experience of the Irish sesiun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We had one night in Clifden and we decided to go to Lowry's based on all reviews on TripAdvisor. We weren't disappointed: great fun barman, excellent atmosphere and a mighty sesiun. We didn't have any food, but the drinks were fairly priced. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lowry's Bar also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Lowry's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lowry's Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.