We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marconi Station” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marconi Station

Marconi Station
Clifden, Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 8 Attractions in Clifden
Type: Historic Sites, Landmarks
Attraction details
Thousand Oaks
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Marconi Station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Nestled in a preserved parkland area so magnificent a walk about. Also the area was the landing site for the first non-stop cross Atlantic flight

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Overpelt, Belgium
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Never realized this site was so big”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Until I've seen the BBC2 TV show COAST about this site , I never realized how big(300 acres) this site was. And yet so little has been preserved. Only fundaments witness this historic place .This station was direct conected with Newfoundland and was build in this bog so that the fuel , the peat bog ,used to power the complex , was at their doorstep . Nearby you'll find also the landingsite of Alcock and Brown , who chrashed landed with their Vickers Vimy in the bog . In July 1922, the station was wrecked by Irish irregulars.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delightfully fresh fish and seafood.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We ate at Marconis our first night in Clifden and liked it so much we returned again just a few days later. The seafood chowder was fantastic as well as the fresh Hake prepared in a yummy light cream sauce. My husband ordered a seafood pasta dish that was to die for. My fish was accompanied by fresh carrots, mashed turnips, potatoes, and fresh bread. We splurged and had chocolate cake with our coffee and it was phenomenal.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good food, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We were recommended this restaurant for dinner and it was excellent -- as far as the food was concerned. The service needed a lot of help; the waiters were always harried and we felt stressed trying to get our orders to them. They forgot to bring coffee, and had to be reminded or flagged down for everything. Very disappointing, as the food from the kitchen was first rate.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyrone
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“It is just a site!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This is up the same farm track as the Alcock and Brown landing site and is not really suitable for cars. The scenery is amazing but I could not see much evidence of the actual wireless site, maybe I was looking at the wrong place! There is certainly a sense of history about the place and it is strange that it is such a deserted place for such historic events to have occurred.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marconi Station also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Marconi Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marconi Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.