We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite B&B in Ireland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ardmore House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ardmore House to your Saves list
Ardmore House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Sky Road | Connaught, Clifden, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 46 Clifden B&B and Inns
Swanton, Md
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Our Favorite B&B in Ireland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Four of us stayed at the Ardmore House in September after traveling throughout Ireland, and we all agreed that it was our favorite B&B in our travels. We were greeted by Kathy who was so incredibly warm and welcoming from beginning to end. She made us feel right at home, and she had even made reservations for dinner at her favorite restaurant in town with the assurance that she could cancel them if we did not want to go. John had created a wonderful walking path down to the water that gave us an incredible view of the water for miles. The rooms were big, the beds were wonderful, the breakfast was fantastic. The only reason I gave this terrific B&B a 4 star instead of 5 is that it is located about 10-15 minutes out of town on an extremely narrow road that we did not want to navigate on our own at night. That meant a taxi ride of 15 euros plus tip each way to go into town for the evening. It was worth it to us, but something to consider when planning the trip. The driver was prompt and available for us whenever we needed to return, so it was absolutely no hassle to take the taxi, just an additional expense. All in all, we loved the Ardmore and loved all of the attention from Kathy and John.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdmoreHouse, Owner at Ardmore House, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review I hope you will come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
105
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I statyed at the Ardmore house and it was so wonderful. Small little road leading there but the GPS coordinates get you right there and it's on Lower Sky Road with the most amazing views. Very comfortable with ensuite bathroom, and the hosts were fantastic. Great breakfast, great hosts, great home...I will be going back. And the little town of Clifden is so charming. I miss it already.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdmoreHouse, Owner at Ardmore House, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review it was very thoughtful of you I hope you will come back to visit us again.

Kind regards

John and Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We arrived late and the road leading to Ardmore is very narrow .. so it was quite nervous driving in the darkness in the middle of the rainy night .. but the GPS coordinate given by Ardmore is perfect .. it brought us right to the house .. parking was not an issue at all

John was very kind enough to wait for us .. greeted us with a smile .. and immediately brought us to our rooms .. the moment we entered our rooms .. we were amazed at the size of the room .. the size of the bed .. they were so big .. the whole place is so clean .. the bathroom is beautiful and very spacious ..

Breakfast was good .. Kathy was very friendly, very helpful and very nice .. she showed us the private path to the cliff .. it was short walk to the cliff .. through garden and pond .. and the view of the cliff, the ocean was breathtaking ..

All in all .. our first trip to Ardmore was really great .. we enjoyed it very much .. thanks to John and Kathy .. hope to see you two again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdmoreHouse, Owner at Ardmore House, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review we really appreciate it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was my 2nd stay at Ardmore House. It's situated on the lower sky road outside of Clifden. Our room was perfectly lovely for us and met all our needs in terms of space and comfort. If you are looking for quiet and peace then you will like it here as it is very quiet. The walk out to the cliffs is gorgeous and filled with flowers. The breakfast is just the way you want to begin your day. The owners and family make sure you are well looked after and there is ample parking for you. I always look forward to seeing the Ardmore sign post ahead as I feel very secure and happy there.

Special note: You see a lot more by staying on the sky road and the views are well worth it, but keep a cautious note of the weather while out and turn back early to the house if the weather is worsening with mist and fog at nightfall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdmoreHouse, Owner at Ardmore House, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words in your review I hope you will return next year for the pony show.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friuli
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We had the biggest room ever, a huge comfortable bed and a very spacious bathroom . simple design, pretty and fresh. Breakfast was rich and we were given quite a few options. The hosts clearly are experienced in having foreign guests, they provide adapters, fridge and anything else you could need. I highly recommend this b&b, particularly for the quality of the rooms.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdmoreHouse, Owner at Ardmore House, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for the great review I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you will return in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The location on the Skyline Drive makes this an outstanding destination spot; for us it was a wonderful stay as we explored Western Ireland/Connemara with friends. Kathy accommodated us at the last minute, welcoming us as if we had booked months in advance and guiding us to nice options for last minute food in town, too. The Ardmore House offers a gorgeous, private walk down to the ocean. Linens were crisp..and white. No old-dreary flowered comforters here. I believe the house was full, but we did not here any noise at any point. Breakfast was lovely and served in a cheery room. And to top all this off, the place was immaculate; the clean rating would be 10 on the 1-10 spectrum, and I am very picky.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdmoreHouse, Owner at Ardmore House, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for the great review I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at Ardmore House for 4 nights (I even wish it could have been longer) Its a beautiful bungalow with everything you could wish for at a B & B and whilst we stayed in 3 other B & B's in Ireland this was certainly the best. Kathy and John have worked really hard to provide all the extra little touches that make your stay as enjoyable as possible. They have a fantastic peaceful walk down to the sea, with seating and picnic tables on the way. If you had longer to stay there you would not want to move from there on a sunny day. Kathy will provide you with a local map and inform you about the area and places to visit. Breakfast is first class with an amazing choice, you name it I think they provide it. The Sky Road has spectacular views to wait for a sunset or just to sit and admire.You will not be sorry if you stay at Ardmore House.
The Connemara region has wonderful scenery and a place we would love to go back to. So thank you John and Kathy for making our stay so enjoyable

Room Tip: Whilst we stayed in the front of the bungalow I do not think you would be disappointed with any room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdmoreHouse, Owner at Ardmore House, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review I hope you will return to Ardmore house in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ardmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmore House

Address: Sky Road | Connaught, Clifden, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardmore House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approved to Failte Ireland Standard. Awarded 4 Stars by the AA. Recommended in best B&B Guide to Ireland. Free Wi-Fi available in bedrooms. Free Internet access in lounge. Ardmore House is set on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean amid rugged landscape. 5Km. West of Clifden Town, it is a small holding stretching from the upper Sky Road to the lower Sky Road and on out to the cliffs locally known as the Slopers. Here we have made a walkway for our Guests. The views from the cliffs of Clifden Bay and the Atlantic Ocean are some of the best you'll find in the Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Ardmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardmore House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.