We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food good but don't reheat mussels” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mannions Bar

Mannions Bar
Market Street, Clifden, Ireland
353 9521780
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 29 restaurants in Clifden
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Ennis, Republic of Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Food good but don't reheat mussels”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

If you are serving seafood like Mussels they should be freshly prepared- no clever stuff like pre-cooking. Especially when Clifden is full of French and palette-savy sorts. Mushroom soup was really good and also hake and chips were excellent. Washrooms need serious upgrading- friendly service and great Guinness!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin G, Manager at Mannions Bar, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thanks very much for visitng Mannions Bar when you came to Clifden. I'm glad that you liked our fresh hake and chips, homemade mushroom soup and Guinness and that you found our service friendly. You'll be glad to know that we will be upgrading our washrooms in the near future as the amount of visitors coming to our area takes it's toll on our facilities. I was very disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy your mussels. We get all our mussels fresh from a local supplier from Killary called Martys Mussels. We always cook them to order in white wine, onions, garlic and cream with just a simple sprinkle of fresh parsley and a wedge or 2 of lemon to garnish and we serve them directly to the table as any good seafood should be served. As a rule we don't pre cook any of our fresh seafood dishes, it's not as safe or as tasty as cooking them fresh to order, which is quick and much more delicious to do. I'm really sorry if your portion of mussels didn't arrive to your table at this standard and I don't know if you complained at the time to one of the staff or management to rectify the situation. Thanks again for your visit and for your honest review and if you return to Clifden in the future we would really like you to experience our mussel dish the way most of our customers do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    39
    30
    7
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great spot for lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was a wonderful spot for lunch. The service was friendly, helpful, and very accommodating with our large group. It was a combination of great food and atmosphere; I highly recommend trying Mannions!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mounds View, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly service and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stopped here on our way out to the coast. The food was great and the daily specials were amazing fresh! The service was great, even when it got busy. Our waiter gave us some great tips for the rest of our day. Don't hesitate to stop in!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lovely spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Service here was quick and very friendly. A good varied menu and the food was reasonably priced and lovely. Watched Galway beat Kilkenny here - happy days

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“They've been at it for decades, and it shows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The Mannion family has long established roots in the area, and if you want authentic food, drink and feel...venture into Mannions.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mannions Bar also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Mannions Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mannions Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.