We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite pub in Clifden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Griffin's Bar

Griffin's Bar
Main Street, Clifden, Ireland
+353 95 21370
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 32 Restaurants in Clifden
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Traditional Old Style Bar . Serves food during day. Great Irish / Rock / Disco Music all through the week and a real local gem
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My favourite pub in Clifden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Cozy, quaint and a real friendly feel. Great for tunes and a few quiet pints, also great if you want to meet other people coming through Clifden, as it is very conducive to conversation. Don't miss it!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    26
    5
    1
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Owner beyond RUDE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Just returned from wonderful clifden and it's warm people but be warned going to griffins was unforgettable for the wrong reason. Joined a trad group on Friday night and played music for 3hours .It was suggested that we might like to hear a trad band in the back of pub so returned sat night. We had not got to the bar to buy a drink immediately as we had just finished a meal. We were accosted by the owner a senior man who shouted at us re not buying at the bar accusingly and going on re the band having to be paid for. The poor man. Life and business must be tough as I watched the desperate scouting for business at the door as we played music on Friday night . Now I know why .But at least remember manners make it the man. Punters don't spend your money or time here. Go next door to the central or lowrys or the Alcock and brown where they respect and show real Clifton welcome.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What an unexpected experience. We called in for one and stayed all night. Great craic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Music like no other, athmosphere was hopping, the craic was mighty and we left with the larks! Great night! Thanks to the fireteam. :0

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great food , well priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Had a lovely dinner , arriving over the Christmas period on a busy Friday evening. Food & service were superb and reasonably priced. I heard nothing but compliments from other diners whilst dining there

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This pub has a really warm atmosphere, we had lunch which was reasonably priced for soup and a sandwich.
We also visited on Saturday night and stayed for the DJ. Griffins has a good mix of traditional Ireland which I was looking for and also as a lively as a evening venue for a great night out, we will definitely come back next year!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Griffin's Bar also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Griffin's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griffin's Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.