We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great music!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J Conneely's Restaurant & bar

J Conneely's Restaurant & bar
Main Street, Clifden, Ireland
095 22733
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 29 restaurants in Clifden
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food, great music!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Spent our first evening in Clifden here, food was lovely and the music was great! Loved that the music started early as most other places didn't start till 9 or 10 pm. Two musicians who were fantastic! Their energy was amazing! Well worth a visit!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    39
    29
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“taste the real Ireland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The food, the music, the people....everything was very good
it's good to go a little bit earlier, so you be sure of a place and you can take a drink at the bar after you had your meal to enjoy the beautiful music.
the service is young and good, the food is delicious and we paid around 12 euros for a good meal.
we had the possibility to sea the 3times ireland banjo champion David Howle, it was amazing to listen to the music and of course we buyed the CD of those guys :-)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Music and Warm Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We enjoyed a pint and the live traditional music at Conneelys on a recent trip. Very friendly staff and the best music on our trip! Will definitely go to Conneely's on our next visit to Clifden. Be sure to catch fiddler Fergal Scahill at Conneely's!! MUST SEE

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The music!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Drawn to this pub by the live band playing traditional music.

Food was great, inexpensive and the service was good.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Coneely's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Our first evening in Clifden was at Coneely's, with good food and wonderful musicians. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Conneely's Restaurant & bar also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to J Conneely's Restaurant & bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Conneely's Restaurant & bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.