We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good craic & dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J Conneely's Restaurant & bar

J Conneely's Restaurant & bar
Main Street, Clifden, Ireland
095 22733
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 32 Restaurants in Clifden
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good craic & dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Enjoyed the early live dinner music as well as the later set with sing-a-long. Micky Mac, Fergal Scahill & Garry O'Meara put on a good show! Also, the seafood linguine is great!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    29
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Live music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had dinner at Conneely's and were drawn in by the traditional live music starting at 6:30. The duo was extremely talented and it was nice not to have to stay out late to hear live music. The food was good and the service was great.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Guinness with Great Music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We enjoyed a great meal of fish and chips and listened to the fiddler Fergal Seahill and his guitar/banjo sidekick David Howley. Both were very talented and fun to watch. A classic Irish Pub that serves its Guinness cold and with a good head of foam. Enjoyed our time here.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Patrons treated poorly...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We went to listen to some good music, which there was, but we're not able to sit down, stand or even take photos of the live band without having the bar list forced in our face and one of the bar tenders stating if we were going to sit, listen or take photos of the band we had to buy a drink even after purchasing three beverages and being kicked off the bar stools.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a fun place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had heard of this establishment, and decided to check it out for the live music that we were told was quite good. We ate first, and the food was very solid; not enough to knock your socks off, but quick, attractively presented, and well-made.

When the music started, though, we absolutely knew that we had come to the right place! What a wonderful atmosphere, some excellent players, and a memorable night of fun! We highly recommend this place, and plan on returning on our next trip, no matter how out of the way it is...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Conneely's Restaurant & bar also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to J Conneely's Restaurant & bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Conneely's Restaurant & bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.