We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality comes at a price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clifden Town Hostel

Clifden Town Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Clifden Town Hostel to your Saves list
Clifden Town Hostel
Market Street, Clifden, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quality comes at a price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

I staid there a few days ago, a week before it gets busy. It was quiet when I was there as it just opened.
The owner is great. He is concerned about any wish you have and he really cares. He runs home to get you an Internet broadband stick, etc. It feels like this hostel really is his gem.
When I arrived there was a sign to call for assistance. I did and he told me which room I could store my luggage. As I came a little early my room wasn't ready yet. When I came back from little walk I found the owner kneeing on the floor to vacuum the corners around my bed (I got an awesome bed - not a bunk bed).

The hostel was super clean, comfy carpet everywhere (you're gonna feel bad running around with your outside shoes). The sitting area is super nice and cozy.

Alas, there is no steady internet connection. If you have luck you can catch up on a neighbour's. If you travel alone and the weather isn't great there is nothing really to do as there is no TV nor permanent Internet connection so make sure you bring a book or a DVD for your Laptop to enjoy a holiday in a comfortable, clean hostel to relax.
17 Euros/night during the week without breakfast isn't really the cheapest way to travel and get around.

Besides, the rooms don't have anything to lock and he is not there 24hours so, valuable items rather be carried around I suppose

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
4
12
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

Great hostel.Very homey atmosphere.Very friendly people. Cozy, quiet and clean. Perfect location for exploring Clifden's bars and pubs. Great value for money.
We've been there twice already and we will definitely be back there again :)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wissenkerke, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

The basics are good here: clean, good beds, good showers and kitchens. The service and friendlyness of the people working here make it a super place to stay! Allways time for a chat or for your questions. Good knowledge of the environment: thanks to several nice tips I experienced beautifull quiet parts of the Connemara. I'm not used to visit the same place twice in my holydays, but this will be the first exeption. I hope next year.
Nelly

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

stayed in a 3 bed dorm. Hostel is clean and cosy with good kitchen and dining areas. Our room was facing the street so was noisy at night but nothing a pair of good ear plugs couldn't fix! No other complaints. Hopefully the prices of hostels in Ireland will come down with the recession..19 euro a night isn't exactly budget!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2005

We had three wonderful days last year in Connemara and had the pleasure of staying at the Clifden Town Hostel.This is a very clean warm house with very friendly staff who will help to plan your day hiking in the area.Wonderful view from one of the kitchens and from some of the rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2004

It've very clean and well kept. All looks very friendly, plus the kitchen it's particularly nice. You'll feel comfortable in it! It's in the main street and with a lovely backview on the ocean and stream.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2002

Great location, great hospitality. Taxi service and tours available. Bay view from from some rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clifden Town Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Town Hostel

Address: Market Street, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Clifden Town Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifden Town Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.