We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem in the West of Ireland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Byrnes Mal Dua House & Restaurant

Byrnes Mal Dua House & Restaurant
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Byrnes Mal Dua House & Restaurant
Save
You added Byrnes Mal Dua House & Restaurant to your Saves list
Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 51 Clifden B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“A true gem in the West of Ireland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2006

We were looking for somewhere different. We did not want just another hotel but somewhere more personal and intimate. We found it. Mal Dua House is just superb. We stayed for 5 nights as we were in the west of Ireland for the Connemara Marathon. Everything is done with such ease and grace. The early morning buffet, which started at 7am for the runners, was just superb. Everything was there for the runners, even Irish whiskey for the oatmeal. We were even offered transportation to the start of the marathon and I know some of the guests accepted this offer.
The facilities are just very good. Daily newspapers each morning, broadband throughout and as I had my laptop it was great, a guest computer for those without their laptops, Bloomberg in the reception, weather forecast posted each morning and just a little thing, a candle lighting as you enter the dining room. When we checked in we were told that time means nothing in Connemara. Well it was really through in the Mal Dua House. We will return again and again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
2
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2006

The Mal Dua is a very nice B&B and was very clean and pleasing to the eye. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are very nice.

As stated in earlier reviews, there is no dinner served, only breakfast. Breakfast offered a standard buffet of mixed fruit (mostly canned, except for sliced bananas), a crock pot of porridge with a pitcher of Jameson Irish Whiskey as a topper, 3 cold cereals, brown bread and 2 juices. Hot breakfast could be ordered from the menu. Breakfast was basic, but good.

The proprietors could be a bit more friendly. They were not rude, but a bit stand-offish. They were very helpful with making dinner reservations when asked.

There is a 10% service charge, which we assumed were tips for the staff, so with that knowledge, did not leave anything for housekeepers or wait staff. Local calls were .75 and long distance was quoted at .75/ unit, but not quite sure what constituted a unit.

Regarding the hot water issue. Rarely was there hot water in the morning for showers, but we found that if we showered after 4 pm there was plenty of hot water. The water pressure is not very good. Heat was also problematic, as it was on a timer and most mornings awoke with cold radiators.

Mal Dua does have a cozy parlor with a fully stocked bar which is run on the honor system. Alcohol was 5.50 euro and soft drinks 1.20 euro. I asked for ice the 2nd night and will say that each night after that the bar was stocked with a bucket of ice. A very nice touch on our last evening, the proprietor offered us a scotch and joined us. It was a really nice gesture, but wish he would have done that at the beginning of our stay, as we would have asked him to join us each evening.

I would recommend this B&B, as all in all it was quite reasonable, very clean and very convenient to nearby Clifden.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2005

We stayed at the Mal Dua House for three nights in early September. The hotel was pleasant and quiet, but about a mile outside town on the Dublin Road. The restaurant on the premises was only open for breakfast, so we had to go into Clifden for the rest of our meals. While there we made one phone call to the US, of about 20 minutes duration, received one call from the US, of about 5 minutes, duration, and called within Ireland 3-4 times to make other reservations. Upon checkout, we were billed over 150 Euros, plus the unanticipated 10 percent surcharge other reviewers mentioned. The evasive desk clerk mumbled something about unit charges of 70 cents (which was more than double the rates at subsequent hotels we stayed at), and the distances we called (I guess Clifden is much farther from the US than County Meath or Mayo!!), but was unappologetic and indifferent. We also sent some clothing out to be washed, but it was returned unfolded--simply pulled from the dryer and crammed back into the bag. While the place is quite pleasing to the eye, these unpleasant and costly experiences tainted our visit to the region, and left us longing for the kinder, gentler parts of Ireland we had left behind. Travellers, beware!!

Stayed September 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2005

The Mal Dua is a very nice B&B with very friendly staff and proprietor. The rooms were very spacious and nicely kept. En suite bathrooms of a decent size also. We were a bit disappointed though that the award winning restaurant as per website is actually closed, which was one of the reasons for being attracted to the place. This restaurant adds prestige to the place (and also to the price) but it doesn't actually exist. Website needs to be updated. Two resident donkeys, Butler and Yetty, were very friendly also. Breakfast was good. Bit of a surprise though when paying the bill to find that there was a 10% service charge which we were not told of in advance. Sort of took a shine off the experience. It's a good quality place, for a B&B, but not cheap (all things considered).

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2005

Well presented B and B, with good breakfast. But arrived on first night and there was no hot water due to a fault with the heating. We were assured that it could not be fixed until the next am so went out for dinner anyway. On checking out we were given no discount, no reimburement, no apology and had to pay a 10% service charge, what for exactly I am not sure.All in all not worth it!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2005

Quite a nice guest house but watch out for on your bill the mandatory 10% service charge and the auto currency exchange transaction which is easily missed if you are trusting.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2004

Spend your money else where, there are far worthier and friendlier places to stay in Clifden. After reading the glowing reviews of this guest house, we happily booked our stay. While the rooms were very clean and quite spacious, the proprietors were rude to both my children and my mother-in-law and father-in-law on multiple occassions. They even told us that children should not be allowed at any restaurants after 6 p.m. because it will disturb the other partons. I might add that my 4-year old and 1-year old daughters were very well behaved, and most of the other guest rooms were empty. This place bills itself as an upscale and relaxing accommodation, while it is actually very plain and modest (not to mention rude), certainly not a 4 star B&B.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Byrnes Mal Dua House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byrnes Mal Dua House & Restaurant

Address: Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byrnes Mal Dua House & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.