We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Station House Hotel - Good, but not all facilities available.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clifden Station House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clifden Station House to your Saves list
Clifden Station House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Clifden
Co. Armagh N.I.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Station House Hotel - Good, but not all facilities available.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

Stayed recently at the Station House Hotel on a 4 nights bed and breakfast with 2 dinners package. Overall the hotel was good, with clean and large rooms and a good leisure centre, and the location is superb.
We enjoyed our stay but we didn't know until we arrived that the Dining Room was closed for dinner from Sunday to Thursday at this time of the year, although it was open for breakfast. We had to use the Station Bar across the way.
Also the Library bar was basically closed as it wasn't staffed. You could use it ,but you had to go across to the Station Bar, to get a drink, and bring it back over.
Although we had a good time, these small points were a little bit annoying.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    232
    74
    32
    14
See reviews for
249
254
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

A group of us went here for the Halloween weekend. 5 adults, 11 kids. Started off badly on Friday night when we were told that our table was too loud and everyone in the restaurant had complained - IT IS A FAMILY HOTEL. KIDS WERE ALLOWED IN THE RESTAURANT. This was then dealt with the next morning with the Manager and things improved. Our main complaint was that the kids club - for all its advertising - was really disappointing. It didn't start until 3pm and included a swim at 4pm. We'd already had a swim in the morning. Also, the 4pm swim was nothing special. No floats or games etc. Just the same. There was no kids club and nothing organised for the Sunday either. Unfortunately, the projector for the cinema had broken too so we couldn't watch a movie. We were lucky that the weather was good and we did a couple of trips. Just think there could have been more organised i.e. family quiz, arts and crafts - that sort of thing. There was a disco on the saturday evening which the kids enjoyed. The hotel itself was comfortable and clean and the staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Park the car and Clifden is on your doorstep. We stayed over Halloween - full of kids but no stress from staff and management. Was our second visit and we dont often return to the same place.

One tip would be to make yourself get out and about to the local hosteleries as its too easy to eat in the Hotel or Station restaurant and go nowhere else (fine if thats your thing!).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathdrum, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Just back from a week in the self-catering apartments at the hotel. The hotel has everything going for it, Location, Leisure centre, Theatre , separate bar from the hotel, and only seconds walk to and shops etc. All Staff are excellent, from the general manager down and not one of the staff could have been more helpful. Food is very good throughout the the hotel. There is a great menu in the bar, make sure you try the fish and chip they are A+. Can't wait for my next trip back to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClifdenStationHouse, General Manager at Clifden Station House, responded to this review, November 3, 2010
Dear katzgavin,

Thank you taking the time to write a review on the Clifden Station House. I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us, and to see your comments on our Traditional Fish & Chips. You can't beat homemade fish & chips. We use locally caught fresh cod and dip it in our home made beer batter which gives it the extra flavour. The Kitchen Team will be thrilled to see your review in our next team meeting.

Regards,

Wilson Bird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

Stayed here for three days in Oct 2010, Got a great deal for the three days. From the Manager down it was brilliant. The Service, Staff and Accommodation were second to none. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the West of Ireland. Not to be missed!.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClifdenStationHouse, General Manager at Clifden Station House, responded to this review, November 3, 2010
Dear mehaul453,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Clifden Station House. Your comments are used as a tool to help us keep in tune with our customers with both good and bad responces. Good customer service is the lifeblood of our hotel.

Regards,

Wilson Bird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, MN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

We loved our stay at the Clifden Station House. Great breakfast, clean comfortable room, nice fitness center. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celbridge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Just back from a 3 night stay in the Clifden Station House with my husband and 2 little girls. They made us feel very welcome. The girls had a great time in the kids club and made lots of friends. And because they were happy - we were happy!! We even got to have dinner on our own!!! Food was very good and pancakes for breakfast - need I say more! Clifden was worth the drive.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clifden Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Station House

Address: Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Station House 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clifden Station House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Station House Hotel Clifden
Clifden Station Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifden Station House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.