We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Litte gem - great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clifden Station House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clifden Station House to your Saves list
Clifden Station House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence 2014
dublin
1 review
“Litte gem - great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

Just back from a weekend spent in this hotel - great location, very friendly and knowledgeable staff who went out of their way to accommodate and welcome, very comfy bed - beautiful meal, great leisure centre- all in all a great way to spend the weekend in a beautiful part of Ireland - thoroughly recommend this hotel

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    245
    76
    33
    14
See reviews for
266
274
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tipperary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

Staff friendly and helpfull, food in the pub was great and also a great breakfast every morning. The rooms for family I found to be far too small.
Leisure centre was ideal for families and the staff very friendly in leisure centre. Over all a lovely hotel, well located , just found family rooms too small.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

I stayed here last night as we were going for a family wedding. Everything is really top notch from the moment you check in; Áine at the desk was so welcoming and personable. Our evening meal was served with such kind service. The room was so restful. It would be bothersome alright, as per the comment below, if you needed a wi-fi service in yout room, but, heck, it's in the foyer and I was there to
relax. In summation, I want to go back for more than one night!!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

I attended a wedding in the Clifden Station House Hotel recently and would have to give the Hotel 10 out of 10 for everything. The hotel leisure centre facilities, kids club, accomodation, staff, all excellent. But the absolute highlight of the weekend was the fantastic wedding meal it was the nicest I've had in a long time and I have been to alot of weddings! I would have to totally disagree with the below comment from shoesdub whos review title said rubbish food, this reviewer obviously doesn't seem to be a very happy traveller by the looks of things!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

This hotel is situated in a quaint irish town on the rugged and beautiful western Irish Galway coast .We booked in for two nights and had a great stay.Nice food comfortable surroundings and enjoyed traditional music in an irish pub .Both the proprietor and the manager made us genuinely welcome in their very keenly priced hotel [it was a steal ] We will most certainly be back .

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray, Co Wicklow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

We have stayed twice in this hotel in 2010. We have found it an ideal base to visit some very fascinating and beautiful countryside. It is close to the town , which is very lively and has excellent pubs and restaurants. We found the hotel to be comfortable, only small gripe would be that in the morning there was quite a lot of noise in the area in front of the hotel, presumably from delivery trucks. The room was clean and well furnished and in our case included an extra bed for our grandaughter at no extra cost. Breakfast was excellent and the dinner, which was included in part of a great value package was adequate - we ate off the table d'hote menu which was a bit limited and repetitive over the 5 days of our second stay but the a la carte menu looked quite interesting. The weather was good during most of both of our stays but we were able to use the swimming pool and table tennis room in the attached leisure centre when we needed to entertain our grand-daughter and on the couple of times it rained. The staff were very friendly and helpful even though the hotel was busy. My only other recommendation is taht they extend the WIFI coverage; we did have free internet in the foyer but thats not much use when you want to use Skype. It did not reach the third floor where our room was located. There was cable internet access in the rooms but you had to pay to use that and at €4.50 for an hour to connect I consider it to be extensive, particulalry as if you didnt use the full time slot the balance didnt seem to carry over. We thought that the hotel was comfortable, efficient and clean and represented really excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wicklow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

from the point of arrival we felt so welcome the room was amazing had everything one would want :-) we went for dinner and the superivser of the restaurant made us feel so so welcome we got VIP treatement she is worth gold :-) we will def stay there in the future
cya soon guys and thanks for a great time :-)

james and ian :-)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clifden Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Station House

Address: Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Station House 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Clifden Station House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Station House Hotel Clifden
Clifden Station Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifden Station House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.