We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clifden Station House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clifden Station House to your Saves list
Clifden Station House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Clifden
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2006

Stayed over the Easter Weekend with the family and had a super time.

The staff were great kids and could not do enough!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    232
    74
    32
    14
See reviews for
249
254
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2006

Had a very romantic weekend in this hotel in February. Staff were accommodating, the room was spacious and very comfortable, food was top class and the leisure facilities were adequate. Very very relaxing. Would recommend a stay here to anyone touring Connamera.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2005

Reading an earlier review I can not understand what they mean by the carpets being dirty and bathrooms outdated! this hotel is first class the carpets are new and the rooms including bathrooms are modern and spotless.
The food is amazing and desrves a mention, the staff are incredably friendly, the management are very visable and spend a lot of time ensuring guests stay is comfertable.
I stay in hotels around the world and can not honestly find fault with this hotel and would highly reccomend it and have booked to come back for a family holiday in the summer!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2005

Stayed at this hotel for a long weekend in September with my husband. Lovely comfortable room, spotlessly clean. Staff were very friendly. The highlight of our stay was definitely the food! Our previous experiences of hotel food have not been good, but this hotel has restored our faith. We ate in the hotel every night, although we had not planned to. Dining is an experience - the chef does amazing things with sauces & herbs... We are going back to the Station House as soon as we can! Fantastic place..

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2005

We were part of a Celtic tour group and everything was prepaid. I say this because I do not know what the breakdown of the hotel cost was, so maybe we were getting what we paid for, but it should not have been costly. Our room was next to the leisure facility which has a pool making our room very humid, and the hotel has no air conditioning. We had a window that opened out, onto the main street, where passersby could just walk up to the window and you could hear all traffic noise, there was no screen on the window either. The room itself was ok- bedspreads had numerous burn holes and the carpet throughout the hotel was filthy, the bathroom was dated and in need of paint and repair. The food was very good and the service was nice, and the town itself was great. If you checkin and think you are going to get a deluxe place to stay this is not the case.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2005

We recently had a family wedding at the Station House and I have to say the staff were superb.

We actually stayed in a beautiful 3-bedroom apartment located in the Courtyard of the hotel. I would highly recommend taking one of these apartments if you are staying there for more than 3 nights. They are excellent value, beautifully decorated and had everything we could need.

The food in the hotel was excellent. The courtyard around the hotel has fantastic facilities such as a hairdresser, Beauty Salon and some really fab shops. It was great to have everything so close on the morning of the wedding.

The night after the wedding we all went for a meal in the town in a restaurant called Mitchell's which I can also highly recommend.

I would definitely like to go back there for a week and tour around the area when we have more time.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2005

Having stayed here before I can see that the new management in the hotel have meant strives in the service and standards and all the staff were incredibly friendly
First class hotel

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clifden Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Station House

Address: Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Station House 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clifden Station House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Station House Hotel Clifden
Clifden Station Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifden Station House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.