We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bravo, Hurrah, Thank You... Once again... Delighted..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clifden Station House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clifden Station House to your Saves list
Clifden Station House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Clifden
Mullingar, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Bravo, Hurrah, Thank You... Once again... Delighted..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Decided to head out West before the easter break finished to recharge the oul batteries and found the Station House, once again, perfect... We have a child with special needs and the staff as always were very prepared and welcoming... The new menu in the bar was lovely and I would recommend the braised sausage as it was so so tasty.. There were 130 Ceoltas Ceoltori musicians staying also and they were fab to listen to... Our beds were so comfy and we all slept very well. The staff at the station house are wonderful, from Aine, Kathleen, Sharon and Susan on the front desk to Alan and his gang in the bar to Barry "fingers" Ryan on the piano in the foyer, all are excellent.. I cannot rate the station house highly enough... The leisure centre too.. Always clean and friendly... Also, just to throw it in there, in April/May, the deals in the local shops are top notch and the local restaurants are lovely... Check out all of the wonderful seafood..

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan F, General Manager at Clifden Station House, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hi Ian,

Thank you for your very kind words! I'm delighted you enjoyed your visit,we always look forward to having your family stay with us. I have passed your fantastic comments onto the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the not so near future.

Ronan Fahy,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    232
    74
    32
    14
See reviews for
249
254
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying in the Station House Hotel for 2 nights with our 2 daughters 11 and 4. From the moment we set foot inside the reception area we were treated like we were the only guest they had. May I point you the hotel was extremely busy the weekend we were there.
We arrived quite late from Dublin but Philip one of the staff members managed to get us served in the restaurant. Absolutely nothing was a problem for him. He an absolute asset to The Station House. The hotel itself it's is extremely well layed out. There is everything you need on site from restaurants, pubs, shops, leisure centre to cinema. Our girls had a great time at their art and swimming classes. There is a huge amount for the children to do. We could have left the girls with the staff all day but chose just 2 hours :-)
The housekeeping staff were very obliging too.
Before we left for our stay I emailed the hotel with questions about their menus, again nothing was too much trouble for them.
I can't recommend this hotel enough. If I could have given more than 5 stars I would have.

Outstanding service. Well done to everyone and we look forward to spending more time with you all soon.

Aleathea, Tom and girls

Room Tip: If you have a family make sure your given a room with a bath. We were allocated a huge family room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan F, General Manager at Clifden Station House, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Hi Aleathea &Tom,

Thank you for you for your very kind and positive review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. I have passed your comments onto the team in particular Phillip.

I look forward to welcoming you both back to the Hotel in the near future.

Ronan Fahy,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed in hotel apartments over Easter weekend. Really good value and ideal accom with two kids. Food very good in bar and restaurant. staff also very friendly and helpful with some nice touches such as calling to apartments with Easter eggs for kids. Easy reach of kylemore Abbey, national park and some nice beaches so all in all ideal location to base yourself for family trip in this area.

Room Tip: Apartments comfortable and good value with full access to all hotel facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan F, General Manager at Clifden Station House, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Seamrogboy,

Thank you for your kind comments we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel. I look forward to having you back in the near future.

We are delighted you found us a good location to explore beautiful Connemara, As Oscar Wilde says "Connemara is a savage beauty"

Regards,

Ronan Fahy,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and from the moment we arrived until we left the staff could not do enough for us,everything was excellent from the quality of the room to the food and the excellance of the facilities , would recomend to all and would stay here again. Travelled from Armagh and would certainly do so again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan F, General Manager at Clifden Station House, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Hi Bill,

It was a pleasure to have you staying in the Hotel . We would love to see you back sometime soon. I have passed your kind comments onto the team who are delighted with the positive feedback.

Kindest Regards,

Ronan Fahy,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Just back from 3 night easter break at this hotel with our 3 children aged 7,8 and 9. Check in and check out wasn't great. We were quoted wrong price on arrival and got no apology afterwards and got overcharged €60 on check-out but this time the receptionist did apologise. All other staff throughout hotel were very friendly. Pool was good and temperature was fine. Breakfast choice was excellent (smoked salmon , pancakes, fresh cheese fruit available). Ate in both bar and restaurant and meals were very good. Plenty for children meals also. Was disappointed with kids club . Started at 3pm in pool which is not a great time, if families are out and about. Then a children's tea in restaurant, a bit overpriced, followed by a dvd. Playroom not great and practically empty - nothing in it for children aged 7+. 7 year old went one night and asked to be collected early as she was bored. Would have expected kids club to be much more exciting over easter bank holiday. However the children were given easter eggs which was a nice surprise in their room. Overall loved the Clifden area, plenty to do.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan F, General Manager at Clifden Station House, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Hi Siobhan,

Thank you for your positive review of the Station House Hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and most of the facilities were up to a high standard. We're also delighted you enjoyed the Easter eggs.

We will review your comments on the kids club and try and make this service better for the future. I have shared your comments with the team.

Ronan Fahy,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I stayed for 4 nights at this hotel as part of a group of hill walkers stying for a weekend. The location is great for access to the 12 Ben mountain range. Highlights of my stay were:
1) a comfortable room in a quiet corner of the hotel as I had requested.
2) Friendly staff, with good customer service
3) the pool, sauna and jacuzzi after a long day in the mountains
4) Well cooked Irish food, with a good range on the menu.
5) A good rate for full board for our group.
I left a suggestion that gluten free bread would be stocked as a matter of course. It wasn't available all the time during my stay.

Room Tip: Ask fir the 4th floor if you want the possibility of a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan F, General Manager at Clifden Station House, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Shannon,

Thank you for your positive review , We're delighted you enjoyed your stay. I have passed your kind comments onto the team.

In relation to your comments on Ceoliac options, we will now stock bread on a continuous basis.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Ronan Fahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Just returned from a brilliant family weekend at the Station House Hotel in Clifden. We stayed in the apartments next to the hotel and found them to be excellent. We also had full use of all the facilities of the hotel which included leisure centre, cinema, kids club and restaurant. From the moment we arrived the staff couldnt have been more attentive to our needs with every request either big or small carried out really quickly and always with a smile on their face. The location is superb, right on the edge of town with beaches and mountain walks just a short journey away. The weather was beautiful last weekend and some of the beaches in the area were just incredible with pure white sand and turquoise water. We even had some beaches completely to ourselves. Great advice from the hotel staff got us to all the major sights in the area with minimum fuss and lots of these trips can be taken without a car if you can cycle. The skyroad being one of the highlights.
Lastly I would just like to thank the manager, Ronan for helping us with our dietary needs on one of the nights when we were having a large family meal. None of the restaurants in town were able to accommodate us but Ronan had a quick word with his chef and this was all taken care of in an instant. So any vegans out there take note. The station house is the place to go.
Cant wait to return.

Room Tip: Apartments are an excellent option for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan F, General Manager at Clifden Station House, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Gavin,

Thank you for your very positive review , I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Clifden Station House Hotel. I have passed your comments onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.

Ronan Fahy,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clifden Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Station House

Address: Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Station House 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clifden Station House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Station House Hotel Clifden
Clifden Station Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifden Station House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.