We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Days in Clifden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clifden Station House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clifden Station House to your Saves list
Clifden Station House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Clifden
SHREVEPORT
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“3 Days in Clifden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

As part of a small group, we stayed at the Clifden Station House from Sept 6-8th. Check-in was easy and we soon found ourselves in our room. Room was spacious and relaxing. We were there mostly at night. The staff did a great job cleaning our room, and we were more than comfortable. The hotel restaurant was perfect for breakfast; the only meal that we enjoyed there.

Great choice for Clifden!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    232
    74
    32
    14
See reviews for
249
254
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I'm not sure where some of these people stayed, but I and many others thought the Hotel was very good. Restaurant service was excellent and the food was very good, plentiful and imaginative. Toiletries and towels were changed every day. Excellent position for the little town of Clifden, and we were lucky with the weather!

Room Tip: We did have a room facing the main road. Ask for room away from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here recently with a group of girls. Not sure where else you'd get customer service like it - from one of the guys in the hotel making a few trips to drop us all down the town as there was torrential rain (and refusing to take anything bar compliments as a thank you!) to the porter putting on an early breakfast for two of us the following morning as we had to get the bus before 7 and walking us to the bus stop as we didn't know where we were going. Highly impressed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights with our teenage sons and booked a self catering apartment. This was an excellent choice as we were free to relax in front of the tv and open a bottle of wine in the evening. Also allowed us to dry cycling gear after a drenching. Deal we had included breakfast which was only ok - rarely find a self service breakfast which gets it right. Though staff were attentive and friendly they were very slow to clear the table of used bowls, plates etc. I cannot recommend dinner as it was over priced for v small, and v average food. Clifden is packed with better places to eat. We will stay here again because of the location and make better use of the facilities in the apartment.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed in this hotel just for one night,and can say staff was very friendly,hotel and room very clean.Dinner in hotel restaurant was good,but you have to book table before...also in morning for breakfast tables are not enough ,but after short while you can get it:) very lovely hotel ,and good location.Would like to go back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dukinfield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night of our tour of the Galway area and chose it for its proximity to Connemara National Park. It's quite an unusual hotel, being part of a complex including shops and a museum. Unfortunately, because of the facilities, the car park was almost full when we arrived, so we ended up parked away from the hotel. Although fortunately, our room's window faced the part of the car park we were in, so it wasn't too bad in the end!

When we went to check in, the lady serving us on the desk started to check in, then passed us over to one of her colleagues and then just disappeared without telling her who we were or what room we were supposed to be in! I thought that was very unprofessional. The lady who took over managed to figure out what was going on and got us all checked in and, thankfully, that was the only issue with service we had.

The room was set up for four of us to sleep in. One was a very comfortable King size bed, one was a sofa-bed which wasn't too bad and the third a camp bed by the patio door, which I thought wasn't too comfy. Still, the room itself was spotless and comfortable, the bathroom was really nice and there was plenty of hot water.

We tried out the swimming pool on site and it was pretty nice! We also had a go in the sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, all of which were very good. One thing to note, you do need bathing caps in the pool, which I believe is common across Ireland. They sell them there, for three Euro each, which isn't very reasonable at all, so remember to get one before you get there!

For the evening meal, we tried the station bar across the car park. This looks like an actual converted rail station inside and out, but it was nowhere near as disappointing as railway food!! The food itself was very nice indeed, a reasonable range at good prices and served fairly quickly. Nice beer, too.

In the hotel bar at the evening, there was a couple playing folk songs, who then handed over to the audience to sing their own songs. We didn't take part in any singing, but it was a very nice atmosphere and very relaxing.

Breakfast was okay. We managed to hit the restaurant at the exact same time as everyone else and we had to wait for a table. The staff were running around making sure empty tables were turned over quickly and the food was brought out just about quickly enough that nothing ran out for long. It tasted okay, but it's that buffet style which I'm not overly keen on.

Overall, it's a nice place to stop. It had a couple of niggles, but nothing that would prevent me from going back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night last week.
The hotel itself is quite nice as was our first room, that was until the guests in the adjoining room returned and we could hear every word they were saying and also their T.V. We were exhausted after climbing Croagh Patrick and we needed a room were we could actually get some sleep. So we called reception and told the receptionist the situation. The lady was actually surprisingly difficult and even a little rude to us. Eventually she agreed to move us to another room that did not have an adjoining room.This room was fine.

Breakfast was not very nice, they had just brought out fresh sausages and scrambled egg so I thought I would go for those. The sausages were like rubber and my knife could not cut through the skin on them, the scrambled eggs were too buttery. The orange juice was like diluting Miwady juice and really awful. I think for the price you pay the least you can expect is fresh orange juice.

Room Tip: Request an non- adjoining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clifden Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Station House

Address: Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Station House 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clifden Station House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Station House Hotel Clifden
Clifden Station Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifden Station House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.