We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clifden Station House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clifden Station House to your Saves list
Clifden Station House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed here as part of a large group, for a weekend. The general consensus was that the hotel was excellent in all aspects. This club organises regular weekend trips around the country, and this is regarded as one of the best hotels the club has used.
Specifically: the beds were very comfortable, the rooms clean and tidy. The food was excellent, that applied to breakfast, evening meals and also packed lunches which were provided.
The staff were universally friendly and helpful.
They also have a unique cafe/bar: it's in the building which was originally the train station, and it still has the layout of a tiny train station. It gives it a unique atomsphere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    245
    76
    32
    14
See reviews for
266
274
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

July of 12 me and my family took a trip back west. My 3 children aged 6,9,11 loved it. On arrival Kathleen on reception was very friendly. She informed me of all the antiquities of the area. We ate in the bar opposite the hotel and the food was delicious . Michaela behind the bar was friendly and always smiling. The rooms were a bit of a downfall with a few switches not working but the beds were nice and was nice and quite. The leisure centre staff were friendly offering towels and showing us around the place. Kids club was a bonus. I personally think another member of staff is needed so, don't get me wrong the woman is brilliant with the kids. My kids are dying to go back and enjoyed the company of the young man working as a lifeguard who was very helpful. Also William in the restraint was very nice. The hotel is in a lovely location and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Lovely staff nice food and good crack in the west of Ireland!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whale20
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Had a one night stay in the station house with my wife and 7 month old. Receptionist was very welcoming.

Got to our room and immediately we could see how dated the room was. It was clean don't get me wrong. But paint missing off the wall, skirting boards missing from bathroom, travel cot that looked like it gone through a family of 10.

Beds were extremely soft but pillows were good.

Swimming pool staff were great and very helpful, getting water seats for our baby, towels etc.
Tiles in changing rooms were dirty and loose, tiles were so old they have changed colour!!!

Hard to believe a 4 star hotel these days cannot have wifi in all rooms. Station house still had their Tv's set up for charging for Internet.

We had food in the attached pub across from the hotel which was to a very good standard.

Breakfast was of a good standard, again staff were very good.

I don' like being critical of hotels especially when the staff are so good but it wouldn't take much to upgrade this hotel , maybe I was expecting so much more from this hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Excellent hotel, great staff, lovely atmosphere. Room was lovely and dinner in the restaurant was great quality and value. Bar is a very nice and a very enjoyable place to have a drink. Residents bar was also very comfortable and good service. Didn't use the leisure centre, gym or spa, but facilities looked good. The theatre onsite is also a great bonus, showing new release movies. Thanks for the hospitality, we'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend in February with a group of friends. The staff at reception were helpful and friendly and were very accommodating to all our needs. We ate in the bar across from the hotel on both nights and couldn't be happier with the food and the service. Great value deals on offer and the bar staff were all very friendly. Andrea behind the bar was excellent, recommending all the best sights and places to go in the area. Our rooms were all well equipped and absolutely spotless.
Breakfast each morning was perfection with a great selection on offer. The hotel has a leisure centre and spa which we didn't make use of but seemed to be nice and busy. All round great experience and I will be recommending to family and friends visiting the area as it is so central to all the amenities Connemara has to offer. Definitely will be returning soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

The staff in the hotel were very friendly and extremely helpful! All the food from breakfast to dinner was beautiful! Very clean hotel too and I had a very comfortable weekend! I was made feel more than welcome. They really made my weekend! Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here recently for a weekend and had a marvellous time. The staff are truely outstanding- and seem to go the extra mile to ensure everything is perfect. The food in the restaurant is marvellous - really far above normal hotel restaruant quality. We had dinner on two nights, and the menu was varied and anything we had was excellent. Breakfast is fit for a king- again lovely extra touches- like freshly made pancakes. I ordered poached eggs on the first morning, and on the second day the chef remembered and offered to make them again before I even had to ask- that's service for you.

The main bar is across the courtyard- which in fact made the experience even nicer- felt like a proper pub- not just a hotel bar. Live music made for a great atmosphere and the place was hopping. For a quieter experience there is a library bar just off the main lobby- which would be a great place for a quiet drink.

The rooms were good- small but very clean and have everything you need. Perhaps ask for a room overlooking the courtyard as the ones on to the road might be a little noisier.

The hotel seemed to be completely full- which is not surprising given the value - there were groups of golfers, fishermen and photographers- there is just so much to do in the area. We played Connemara Golf club- which was only superb. Diamond hill (in Connemara National Park)- about 15 minutes drive, is well worth the effort- stunning views from the top. A good hike- need a reasonable level of fitness, but all climbing is done on steps up the hill rather than bare mountain face- which makes it accessible even to non-seasoned climbers. There are also shorter more level walks which would be suitable for the less fit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clifden Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Station House

Address: Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Station House 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Clifden Station House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Station House Hotel Clifden
Clifden Station Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifden Station House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.