We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make the Station house your first stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clifden Station House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clifden Station House to your Saves list
Clifden Station House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Make the Station house your first stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Stayed in the Station House with my wife and small daughter in the last week of April 2011. We live in Dublin but are from Galway originally so a stay at Clifden allowed us to visit family and escape into the wilds of Connemara. Cant fault the Station House at all, I would be nit picking if I was to try to identify any faults.

We were on a package so our dinner was included and the food was good quality and well presented and varied each night. I would ask management to consider offering more variety of wines for two people (three quarter sized bottles).

The station house has many facilities, the bar across from the main entrance is good for a quiet pint and serves food too. My wife purchased a dress at one of the designer boutiques on site and went away pleased. There is also a nice coffee shop on site, a museum, a theatre and my kids favourite, the leisure centre, great pool jacuzzi etc and well monitored and maintained by Station Houses friendly staff.

I would highly recommend the hotel for a family break and we intend to spend a week there later in the year. Clifden itself is a nice town, I got some great lunches in Guys bar and great ice cream on the main street (cant name the place). There is lots to do in the area and in the 3 days we were there we only scratched the surface. Roll on the summer holidays.

Ray

Room Tip: Family Rooms were spacious and fully equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClifdenStationHouse, General Manager at Clifden Station House, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Dear Reamonnt,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Clifden Station House. It is great to escape to the wilds of connemara with the kids! Your right when you say, "3 days we were there we only scratched the surface" as both the hotel and Connemara Chamber Commerce run a lot of events especialy over the summer months.

Your comments regarding the wine is duely noted and we now have special offers every week.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back again very soon.

Regards,

Wilson Bird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    245
    76
    33
    14
See reviews for
266
274
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castlebar, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Myself ,my partner and some friends just spent the May bank holiday weekend at the Clifden Station House Hotel. It was absolutely perfect for a relaxing break away.. From the minute we checked in we were made feel at home by Wilson Bird and his team. Definately the best weekend break we've had in a long time.. Wilson and his team go that extra mile to make sure your experience is one that will make you want to return.
The dining was top class, food and service was excellent..make sure to try the pancakes at breakfast..gorgeous.
If you want to sample the nightlife of Clifden the hotel is only two minute stroll .
The bedrooms were spotless and modern..room service efficient and friendly.
Can't wait to book our next break to the Station House Clifden, planning it already!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClifdenStationHouse, General Manager at Clifden Station House, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Dear TheresaF-77,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Clifden Station House. I'm delighted to read your comments regarding the EXTRA MILE, it is a big part of what we do here. Also to read about your time in clifden at night, most bars have music every night and the restaurants have early bird specials.
Kind regards,

Wilson Bird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

My husband & I stayed at this hotel for a few nights recently. While the hotel is pleasant and the bar cosy, it is the staff that makes it stand out from the others. I found them welcoming, helpful and friendly, the manager particularly so. The food, both in the hotel restaurant and the bar, was very good. We enjoyed a meal in an expensive seafood restaurant in the town during our stay in Clifden and I would say the food in this hotel was equally good, while being much better value for money. It is also a very child-friendly place to stay. The rate we paid was very competitive. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClifdenStationHouse, General Manager at Clifden Station House, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Dear Caherbreagh,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our service and will pass your comments on to our team, I will also let the chefs know you enjoyed our food in the restaurant and bar.
We take great pride in delivering excellent customer service so I’m delighted to hear you were so impressed with everything.

Thanks again for the great recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards
Wilson Bird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenties, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

my wife and i enjoyed a break in clifden on easter monday and tuesday. The hotel was great and the staff could not do enough for us. We had decided not to bring along our daughter this time and i sorry now we did not as the hotel was so well equipped to welcome famies. They provide a full kids club and have a fantastic leisure cente on site. Cliften itself is a great town with lots going on, also worth a look is Kylemore Abbey on the Westport road. We also went Wakeboarding in Lenane at Killary Adventure centure. it was brilliant the instructure was great craic and helped us relax and enjoy our time there.
thank you to the staff of the station house hotel and the killary Adventure center for making our teip away amazing. Definatly be bringing the familty next time

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClifdenStationHouse, General Manager at Clifden Station House, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Dear declanboyle,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Clifden Station House. I'm delighted to read your comments regarding what connemara has to offer! Both Kylemore and Killary Adventure Center are excellent day drips from the Capatial of Connemara, Clifden.
Your comments on our staff are well noted and will be passed on to our team. We make every effort to ensure that every guests expection is met!

Kind regards,

Wilson Bird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

I stayed last weekend - 2 nights B&B and 1 evening meal. From the moment we walked in the door to the time we left, we were made most welcome. Service at reception, restaurant, leisure club, room staff and bar were all excellent. Rooms clean and spacious and the food, most importantly, was excellent. All round a great trip and one to be repeated.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClifdenStationHouse, General Manager at Clifden Station House, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Dear To-Arthur,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Clifden Station House. I am delighted to read that you thought so highly of your stay and will be sure to pass on your comments to all the team here. We look forward to welcoming you back at a future date.

Kind Regards,

Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portarlington, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

We arranged a reunion for approx 50 people for Clifden in April 2011 and based ourselves in the Clifden Station House Hotel. Through the entire planning process the hotel could not have been more helpful and the service kept up this high standard when we were there.

As the group arrived on Friday from all over the country they were well received by Claire in reception. The buffet was excellent on the first night and was just what was needed by a bunch of hungry travellers. Wilson and his staff were very accommodating for a number of requests over the weekend. All the stops were pulled out for our Gala meal on Saturday and the compliments for the food and the service flowed from the group.

Even at checkout Claire and Wilson greeted us with a smile and bade us farewell. I will be back with the family at some stage as the hotel had everything .. families, couples and groups .. all seemlessly catered for.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClifdenStationHouse, General Manager at Clifden Station House, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Dear DaveH_9,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Clifden Station House. We’re thrilled to read that you and your group had such a wonderful experience and will pass on your comments to all our team. The Kithcen team put a lot of effort and engery into there delivery and presentation of our food.
Everybody loves a Gala Dinner, especially us, as it allows us to put the best of everything that we do in to practice.

Kind Regards,

Wilson Bird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

we had booked our wedding anniversary break in the station house hotel clifden, having read the reviews we were looking forward to it, but my poor mum passed away suddenly two weeks before but my husband and kids presuaded us to go. on arrival the receptionist was pleasant and my husband with her help upgraded us to s suite. at dinner the manager Wilson introduced himself very pleasant the staff were very attentive. The pleasant and attentive staff made for a very pleasant dinner. next day was our anniversary and wilson and staff went out o their way to make it special, anyone wanting a really nice hotel with excellent staff should book the station house. Its hard to find a hotel with such pleasant attentive staff and a manager who takes the time to find out individual customer needs ,would recommend the hotel. the staff. and the manager, im sure you would go along way before you would find such hospitality anywhere. Thanks Wilson we really enjoyed

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClifdenStationHouse, General Manager at Clifden Station House, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Dear annelappin,

Thank you very much indeed for your fantastic review. We were all delighted to read your comments in relation to your stay with us and we are glad that we were able to add to the enjoyment of your anniversary.

We look forward to welcoming you both back this time next year!

Kind regards,

Wilson Bird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clifden Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Station House

Address: Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Station House 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Clifden Station House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Station House Hotel Clifden
Clifden Station Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifden Station House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.