We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unforgettable night of Galway craic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abbeyglen Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Abbeyglen Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Clifden
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An unforgettable night of Galway craic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

A night with the Hughes family around Brian's piano is an unforgettable experience. If you're not in the mood for partying with complete strangers who become your new best friends then this isn't the place for you.

Rooms are fine, the food is great but the people make this one of our favourite places in all of Ireland

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyglenCastleHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbeyglen Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
Thank you for your very kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed the entertainment provided by Brian Hughes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    140
    66
    39
    28
See reviews for
132
339
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

We just love this hotel. It's a pleasure to stay at hotel that has it all. Great food, wonderful staff & rooms.The treatment rooms are wonderful also.
Its Brian & Paul & their wonderful staff who make it so.
It's a unique hotel it has it all, you can chill out, expect wonderful food and service and then at night the piano bar has to be experienced you will be hard pressed to find such fun in any other hotel!
We spent Christmas here this year and will be back again it was wonderful

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyglenCastleHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbeyglen Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review Abbeyglen on tripadvisor.

Thank you also for your very kind comments "great food, wonderful staff and rooms".

It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed spending Christmas with us in Abbeyglen.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

Stayed at the end of October and had a brilliant time. The owners and staff made us welcome from the moment we arrived until we left. Make sure you stay up for the party at night fantastic. We would definitely go back (hopefully soon)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyglenCastleHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbeyglen Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
Thank you for your kind words.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Abbeyglen in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

I stayed at the Abbeyglen Castle Hotel in November while I was touring Ireland solo. This was one of the (4) Castles that I stayed in during my trip and BY FAR my favorite. I was a little apprehensive at first arriving at dark in the rain, but I was quickly welcomed by Paul & Brian, the castles proprieters who made me (the lone traveling girl from California) feel as though I was home!

There was great food & service, warm smiles, the rooms were inviting (I had a great view above the helicopter pad overlooking the town), and the other guests were very cordial. We laughed, sang & drank our hearts away during my stay, and I even met a few new friends along the way at the castle (including Paul & Brian...very humble hosts! Oh and Gilbert, the guard bird).

All in all a great spot to unwind and enjoy the quaint town of Clifden. I would definately recommend the Abbeyglen to my friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

This is a rare gem! Great fun with piano bar, good food, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Straffan, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

The staff were wonderful, friendly and helpful. We are newlyweds who had our honeymoon cancelled due to the airtravel nightmare and the Abbeyglen were kind to give us a room last minute. We were given a complimentary upgrade to a suite and were even left a bottle of champagne in our room complete with congratulatory card from the hotel owners. This, plus the complimentary afternoon tea was also a nice extra. This personalised service continued to be a feature of our stay, being greeted as 'the bride and groom' everywhere we went and we were also phoned an hour before dinner to join other guests in a complimentary champagne reception! The food was also very tasty and there was certainly lots of it. All in all, we felt it was very good value.

On the other hand, I could imagine guests expecting a sombre, elegant and luxurious castle could be disappointed - it is a quirky place with live music every evening complete with ageing decor and furniture and did not give the impression of being a real castle. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to foreign guests looking for a fun, Irish experience, but would hesitate to recommend it to those looking for a tranquil and historical stay as it may not be what you expect.

All that said, go check it out and I guarantee you will certainly never forget your stay at the Abbeyglen!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

I recently spent a wonderful weekend in the Abbeyglen with my sister (on crutches at the time) and another girlfriend. I have to say we had the best craic there. The staff were amazing, particularly Martina on reception, nothing was an issue. The owners Paul and Brian were so hospitable and made our stay so enjoyable. The food was amazing, the atmosphere was relaxed and the craic in the bar at night by the piano was something we hadn't experienced in a while. We will definitely be back. Thank you so much for a great weekend. It was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbeyglen Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyglen Castle Hotel

Address: Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbeyglen Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Abbeyglen Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyglen Castle Clifden
Hotel Abbeyglen Castle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbeyglen Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.