We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolutely wonderful intro to the west of Ireland!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbeyglen Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Abbeyglen Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Clifden
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An absolutely wonderful intro to the west of Ireland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2008

Staying at the Abbeyglen is like staying in someone's comfortable old home. It's in a wonderful location, overlooking the town of Clifden.

I stayed two nights in one of the deluxe rooms [#41] and it was spacious, beautifully appointed and really felt castle-like. The four-poster, canopy bed was luxurious, as was the huge bathroom.

The food was outstanding--especially the delicious dessert table, and the cooked to order hot breakfasts. Owner/manager Brian Hughes is a wonderful hotelier, and a definite character.

This was my first visit to Ireland, and what a wonderful introduction to a place I've wanted to visit all my life. A unique and delightful experience.

  • Liked — Food, ambience, location, friendly staff.
  • Disliked — The in-room TV's need to be upgraded.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    140
    66
    39
    28
See reviews for
132
339
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, RI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2007

We had a fantastic stay at the Abbeyglen. The castle was quite full with holiday parties, but Brian and his dad made us feel extremely welcome after a long day of driving. The room was great - old world with modern conveniences, the castle is charming, and the food was fantastic. Definitely worth staying if you are looking for a true Irish experience in a gorgeous setting. The hotel also has a helicopter pad, for those who travel that way! I hope to get back there someday to do more exploring.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2007

Just returned from a week at the Abbeyglen Castle Hotel Clifden. We had a rocky start with internet booking but then contacted the hotel direct and being the perfectionist they are Paul and Brian Hughes sorted our problem. The AbbeyGlen is a wonderful experience turf fires,afternoon tea, champagne receptions musical evenings and of course Gilbert the parrot. You go to the Abbeyglen to heal, relax,and be nourished.
The food is excellent and plenty of it. I feel that no matter what request you make it will appear within minutes. People who are repeat visitors are greeted with such affection by Paul that they must feel they have come home. The Sky road is a terrific walk if you like walking but very tiring, but you can do a circle and return to the Abbeyglen after about 3 hours where coffee and sandwiches will be waiting.
We will return to the Abbeyglen but we will book directly with the hotel. We will be greeted with affection and coe away rested and happy. Thank you Abbeyglen.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2007

We were booked at Abbeyglen for our third night's stay in Ireland. Upon arrival we were told they had overbooked and we had no room. The manager and staff had already arranged a room at a sister hotel which was not a castle, but very lovely manor house. The manager and staff offered us a diiner for two with wine to compensate us for our inconvenience as well as the option to have breakfast with them or the hotel where we were staying. The dinner was wonderful and we were treated like special guests. The manager and staff couldn't have been more gracious to first time travelers to Ireland. We were even offered another night's stay on them if we came back. What a terrific place.

  • Liked — Beautiful location, great service and staff
  • Disliked — internet booking problems
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. I would say that the overall experience was fine but this hotel is in need of some serious updating! Plates on the wall for decoration? I could see this if this was a real castle and that is what you were going for but this was just a hotel that needs updating. A superior room is a must if you want something better than your run of the mill motel room. The food was good but we found the same or better in town. If you are looking for modern conviences, this is not the place.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — It was just outdated
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

We stayed at Abbeyglen Castle Hotel for three nights. Our room was large and comfortable with two large armchairs but in need of modernisation with frayed curtains etc. The bathroom is also dated with very little shelf space. Reception areas and bar have open fires and a cosy atmosphere. Food was very good both for breakfast and dinner and complimentary afternoon tea each day is a nice touch. The owners/managers maintain a constant presence in reception areas and dining room. Gilbert, the parrot, keeps a beady eye on residents and chats away when alone!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meath
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2007

Just spent a wonderful two days in the Abbeyglen Castle Hotel. Our room had a wonderful view, four poster bed and a large bathroom. The staff were wonderful especially Frieda in the bar. We enjoyed the complimentary afternoon tea and the chats with the parrot. Will definitely return there in the near future. The food and the ambience were excellent.

  • Liked — Standard of the bedroom including the four poster bed
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbeyglen Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyglen Castle Hotel

Address: Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbeyglen Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Abbeyglen Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyglen Castle Clifden
Hotel Abbeyglen Castle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbeyglen Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.