We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely weekend in this quirky hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ballyconneely Road R341, Clifden, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Early Bird Special 15%Off
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Clifden
Drogheda, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A lovely weekend in this quirky hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed at this hotel along with a couple of friends over the bank holiday weekend. We really enjoyed our stay - the owners and the staff were very friendly, and the hotel itself was quirky and unusual. The hotel overlooks a beautiful bay, with stunning views from the restaurant. Apart from the view, the restaurant also has a couple of open fires, which create a lovely cosy atmosphere. We ate at the restaurant on our second evening and while it was relatively expensive (39.50 for set menu, 5.50 for a 750ml bottle of water), the food was delicious! Unfortunately we didn't get a room with a view, but the room was a good size. The only downside was that it was a bit cold at times. There wasn't a great selection of TV channels but that didn't affect us as we didn't travel to Connemara to watch TV! There is a lovely lounge area in the hotel with a huge open fire, the perfect place to kick back and enjoy a few drinks. If you're looking for somewhere to stay near Clifden that is friendly, laid back and comfortable then this is it. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the bay, it's stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    38
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
34
118
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

As a family of 4 we have just spent 2 AMAZING nights in the Ardagh Hotel.We have previosly stayed in places such as Rathsallagh in Wicklow and The Malborough Hotel Cork (both rated 4 star) and our experience in the Ardagh Hotel was far superior! Firstly our room was HUGE with an AMAZING veiw over the Connemara lakes and countryside, the hospitality provided by Stephan and Monique was friendly and personal.The atmosphere is professional yet homely and inviting with turf fires and a baby grand piano.The food is organic and locally sourced and Monique brilliantly organised food that the children enjoyed! We visited Connemara National Park and participated in a supervised walk of Diamond Hill-well worth a visit! In the Ardagh Hotel, the presence of the beautiful dog Rocky(in reception only) was a wonderful addition to our stay! We would highly recommend this hotel to any family who wished to explore Connemara and witness high quality accomadation and food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Ardagh was one of two Clifden hotels we had chosen from reviews in Tripadvisor. We hadn't booked anything and when we arrived at the hotel we were shown a lovely, large room at a very reasonable rate. It had beautiful inlet views so we checked in for the night.
We received very friendly, helpful advice on local sights, restaurants and pubs. Clifden is only minutes away by car and there is some interesting, quality shopping in the town. The pubs and eateries in town are indeed great value for food and entertainment.
Breakfast was delicious and served in the dining room with the same picturesque views.
Things were so good that we stayed for another night and we would liked to have been able to stay for longer. The Ardagh is ideally located to tour this magical part of Ireland.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed on a 2 nights B&B plus Dinner on 1 night basis in a second-floor room facing the bay The room was spacious and quiet with a sitting area and was well worth the extra. Food was excellent and the owners went out of their way to ensure that my wife ( a vegetarian who does not eat egg, fish or pasta) was well catered for. Staff were friendly and attentive. The Hotel is only a few minutes drive outside Clifden, but taxis are readily available if you are going to have a drink or two. Lovely scenic drives to Ballyconneely and beyond.

Room Tip: Go for a second-floor room facing the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

If you read a negative review of this establishment -ignore it. Stephane and his wonderful team just provide what every traveller really wants -first rate hospitality ! Slightly out of town in a wonderful setting, the craic of Clifden's musical nightlife is still available only minutes away. However we found it difficult to stir from the peat fires in the bar and dining room of an evening - that's how cosy it is.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Myself and my friends dined in the restaurant on Saturday nite....we had trouble contacting the Hotel to make a reservation but finally we got to make the reservation...We arrived at the Hotel unfortunatly the sun had gone down because the view from the hotel is really good....The Hotel has a nice feel to it....we were brought over to friends who were actually staying in the hotel and we ordered a drink my friend asked for a glass of either cabernet savingnon or chablis and we were rudly informed that that wine could not be sold per glass but sure you could buy and bottle and drink the rest at home which I thought was fairly rude and not very smart as the chances are my friend would have a few glasses anyway....so the female owner came over and took our order...and then a short time later we were shown to our table we had a gentleman looking after us I belive it is the other owner....I had the melon with ham to start and the chicken dish that was very tastie it was the last portion and my pal had to choose the duck instead thought being that the restaurant was fairly quiet it was unusual that it was the last portion left...the starter was lovelly main course very tastie and the wine was good until the waiter poured the chardonnay instead of savignon blanc..desert I had the sticky toffee pudding which was very heavy but nice...we were just finnishing our meal when we got word that the taxi had arrived and he was in a rush so we kinda had to hurry...all in all a good experience...but the location is amazing I never got to see the rooms but from the reviews they don't seem that appealing.....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youghal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

WE stayed here about 6 years ago the rooms have been upgraded to a very high standard and the views from the front rooms are beautiful.The reason we came back was for the restaurant and the food here must be among the finest and best in the country.You get a very warm welcome from Stefan and the rest of his staff,so if you are thinking of going to the Clifden area this is the place to stay and eat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Ballyconneely Road R341, Clifden, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small comfortable family run hotel with an award winning fresh local seafood restaurant and magnificent views of the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardagh Hotel Clifden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.