We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ballyconneely Road, Clifden, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Clifden
Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

If you read a negative review of this establishment -ignore it. Stephane and his wonderful team just provide what every traveller really wants -first rate hospitality ! Slightly out of town in a wonderful setting, the craic of Clifden's musical nightlife is still available only minutes away. However we found it difficult to stir from the peat fires in the bar and dining room of an evening - that's how cosy it is.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    25
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
25
93
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Myself and my friends dined in the restaurant on Saturday nite....we had trouble contacting the Hotel to make a reservation but finally we got to make the reservation...We arrived at the Hotel unfortunatly the sun had gone down because the view from the hotel is really good....The Hotel has a nice feel to it....we were brought over to friends who were actually staying in the hotel and we ordered a drink my friend asked for a glass of either cabernet savingnon or chablis and we were rudly informed that that wine could not be sold per glass but sure you could buy and bottle and drink the rest at home which I thought was fairly rude and not very smart as the chances are my friend would have a few glasses anyway....so the female owner came over and took our order...and then a short time later we were shown to our table we had a gentleman looking after us I belive it is the other owner....I had the melon with ham to start and the chicken dish that was very tastie it was the last portion and my pal had to choose the duck instead thought being that the restaurant was fairly quiet it was unusual that it was the last portion left...the starter was lovelly main course very tastie and the wine was good until the waiter poured the chardonnay instead of savignon blanc..desert I had the sticky toffee pudding which was very heavy but nice...we were just finnishing our meal when we got word that the taxi had arrived and he was in a rush so we kinda had to hurry...all in all a good experience...but the location is amazing I never got to see the rooms but from the reviews they don't seem that appealing.....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youghal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

WE stayed here about 6 years ago the rooms have been upgraded to a very high standard and the views from the front rooms are beautiful.The reason we came back was for the restaurant and the food here must be among the finest and best in the country.You get a very warm welcome from Stefan and the rest of his staff,so if you are thinking of going to the Clifden area this is the place to stay and eat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The Ardagh Hotel was a wonderful place to stay. We stayed for two nights on our honeymoon and it was fantastic. The food was amazing, the best we had in all of Ireland. We enjoyed board games by an open real fireplace while feeling like we were at home. The owners were fantastic whether it was bringing up an ironing board or directing us to the hot spots in the town. We recomend anyone of any age to stay there as we are certainly going to make a return trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris area
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Ardagh Hotel for 6 nights at the end of August 2012. We were welcomed by Sydney who immediately made us feel at home, and helped carry our cases upstairs. We booked a suite on the 2nd floor with sea view. For the small difference in price, go for a sea view room. The king size bed was huge ... and comfortable.

The sea view from the room and from the restaurant is simply amazing - almost hypnotizing.

We dined twice in the restaurant, which is very comfortable with good sized tables and excellent service (thanks Cynthia ! ;-) ) and the food is well cooked and nicely presented. We went for the 39.50 € set menu, a price which is fair in view of the quality, setting and service.

There is a very comfortable large bar/lounge on the ground floor with grand piano and real fire. Very cosy.

Wifi speed is about 11 Mb/s but the signal is weak in the rooms. In the longe areas it is strong. The wifi is free.

There is ample car parking space in front of the hotel. The drive back into town takes about 10 minutes, though (as has been previously mentioned on Tripadvisor) the road is rather narrow and not well suited for pedestrians.

Stéphane and Monique, the owners, go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. Stéphane also has a great sense of humour and is a very interesting person to talk to. He recommended local drives and walks which we very much enjoyed.

Looking for an excuse to go back as soon as the opportunity arises!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Read the reviews on this hotel and decided to pull up and see if the had a room. We had a suite over looking the water, pure joy and wonderful to look out at as the sun came through first thing in the morning.

We were greeted by very friendly staff who were very attentive. The evening meal lived up to what I had heard, first class, ok over 100 euros for two but it was quality and the wine was good, something for all budgets.

The lounge areas were very good and comfortable, minor slip was the previous guest in our room had left her underware in the drawer and housekeeping had missed it no big deal but need to keep up the attention to detail.

Would return if in the area and would recommend this hotel

Jose and Wolfie August 2012

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately we could only stay one night in this wonderful hotel but we will certainly be back. It has everything - magnificent views over the bay, beautifully furnished peaceful lounges, very friendly staff. The owners are charming and most helpful. Beds are so comfortable I had best sleep here in years! This hotel is a rare gem.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Ballyconneely Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small comfortable family run hotel with an award winning fresh local seafood restaurant and magnificent views of the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardagh Hotel Clifden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.