We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ardagh, Ballyconneely Road R341, Clifden, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Really nice stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Ardagh Hotel and Restaurant was excellent for our overnight stay in Clifden. The hotel is about 5km outside of Clifden on the Ballyconneely Road, and has spectacular views. The hospitality was exceptional; really welcoming. We ate in the restaurant, which appeared very popular and bookings are essential. The menu was interesting, innovative and stylish. The food was delicious, as you would expect from a fine dining establishment. The comfort in our rooms was great. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Expect to pay around 80-100 Euros for a meal for 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    38
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
35
118
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful couple of days in The Ardagh Hotel. My partner and I enjoyed the experience from start to finish and this hotel is one we will definitely be returning to again. I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to experience the best of hospitality in the most beautiful surroundings. We booked a 2 night 1 dinner B& B package with the hotel but the restaurant food was so good we dined in the hotel both nights. They use their own produce where possible and wonderful fresh seafood which we both loved. The location just outside Clifden allows you to enjoy the tranquility and wonderful scenery of Connemara while being within easy reach of the lively Clifden, The couple who own and run this hotel have a lovely understated style of management which encourages full relaxation from the moment you arrive. After two days in The Ardagh we really felt like the batteries were recharged. Our only problem leaving was that we knew that our next hotel would never match the standards set by The Ardagh.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We chose the Ardagh Hotel after seeing the views they have over Ballyconneally Bay. It is beautiful, despite the weather being far from it! The hotel is 2km outside Clifden on quite a narrow country road. On arrival we were greeted by the owner, who was extremely friendly. Our room faced the sea and was very spacious with 2 beds (1 double 1 single). The bathroom was very clean, but a word of warning, the shower is extremely powerful and would nearly take a layer of skin from you! Not a bad complaint however! The hotel has a lovely homely atmosphere to it, and it appeared those who stayed the same weekend were repeat visitors as they seemed to know the owners quite well. We didnt dine in the hotel, but opted for an early bird deal in Clifden, however after reading some of the reviews I wish we did! I'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have spectacular sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

What can I say about the Ardagh! A pleaseant surprise on the edge of Clifden. When we arrived we received a warm greeting and were assisted to our room. Bedrooms to the rear do not have a sea view while rooms facing the coast are slightly more expensive. However the view from the dining room / restaurant at sunset was amazing !!! The food was superb and wine list was reasonable. Our package was for 2 nights B&B plus 1 evening meal. We met some interesting people over dinner and drinks afterwards in the comfortable piano / wine bar. Free internet in the conservatory upstairs or in reception/ bar area. Staff were pleasant and friendly especially Sydney and our dinner waitress who were both great company. Management even went to the trouble of organising a taxi into nearby Clifden as we decided to go to a Traditional session and have a few beers so no need to drive. ( reasonable €7 each way ). All in all an amazing oasis of calm and boutique size hotel full of character. I will be back even if only for the amazing breakfast!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The Ardagh Hotel is situated in an idyllic location overlooking an inlet of water about 2KM outside of Clifden. This is definitely part of its attraction as all of the front facing rooms have a simply wonderful view. We were blessed with 24 hours of benign weather in an otherwise wet spell. Our reward was a spectacular sunset followed by a delightful morning view with sun shining on the water - all viewed from the room.

The hotel itself is very good, seeming to get a good balance between the privacy of a hotel and the homely feel of a top rate B&B. Part of the latter is given by the common areas that you can use to relax, read or just admire the views. The rooms are comfortable and the beds a good size. TV should not be high on your agenda so forget about the small sets with limited channels - that should encourage you to enjoy the wonderful surroundings.

Regardless of the hotel, the outstanding memory for us (my wife and I had a single night here in early July) was the food. On reading the consistently good reviews, we booked for dinner and were given a table for two at the window overlooking the water and mountains beyond. As a cloudy evening cleared to blue skies, mother nature put on an unforgettable display. Even whilst cloudy, however, I found myself mesmerised by the view - a picture painting.

The food needs some detailed mention. My wife and I both went for the a la carte 3 course menu. The cost of 38 Euros (I think) was slightly less than a seafood only option with lobster. There were also individual selections that you could have which for two courses would be only marginally cheaper than the lower priced set menu. However, forget the price - the standard is worth at least this amount. I chose the seafood chowder for an appetiser (as good as I have had anywhere - and I've had some good ones in New England, USA) followed by cod and chips, with the melt in the mouth cod coated in a very nice tempura batter. A divine apple pie with raspberry coulis and chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream ending a memorable meal. My wife had outstanding mussels to begin, a wonderful lamb shank and then a very good cheese plate.

As for plain old breakfast in the morning - superb. The omelettes are light and very, very tasty.

The only reason that I can explain the the restaurant is not packed to the rafters every night is that it is not in the town centre. The food is as good as anywhere I have eaten before!

Our evening was rounded off by a walk along the road at the front of the hotel (busier than you might expect at 10.00PM) and a whiskey back at the hotel for a night cap. If you like peaty, smoky single malts, go for the local Connamarra. It is really very good and compares with the best Speyside malts.

If you are anywhere near Clifden, stay at the Ardagh and more importantly, eat here too. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed here on the 28th of june for 3 nights. What a place,Great views,in all the places we have stayed it has been the best,never tasted food like it. Owners lovely. Staff very freindly and helpfull

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The reviews I have read understate this wonderful establishment. It ticks all the boxes. Hospitality, great food and atmosphere.

I will certainly return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Ardagh, Ballyconneely Road R341, Clifden, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small comfortable family run hotel with an award winning fresh local seafood restaurant and magnificent views of the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardagh Hotel Clifden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.