We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exceptional experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Connemara Championship Links

Connemara Championship Links
Aillebrack, Ballyconneely, Clifden, Ireland
353 95 23502
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 18-hole championship golf course has the spectacular Twelve Bens as a backdrop, and challenges the best of players with its massive last six holes that make par a challenge to achieve.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“An exceptional experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Arriving at Connemara after what seemed to be a long, rather hazardous drive was like coming out of the clouds and entering heaven. The sparkling ocean greeted us on the left where we stopped to take pictures before even changing in to our shoes and moving into the beautiful clubhouse where we were greeted like locals . When we hit the course the fairways were interesting, tight and dry while the greens where fast and challenging. Each hole slowed us down as we stopped to take pictures of the increasingly more beautiful views. The only suggestion I can offer is it was sometimes difficult to find the next tee,particularly on the "c" course. We were fortunate to play 27 holes on all three courses all of which were fantastic.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    9
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good enough for Tom Watson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

What an experience! Pristine course, true links golf, staff very accommodating, views from the clubhouse exceptional. Watson played here and had this to say "If this course was in the UK it would be in The Open rotation." Climb the stairs to 18th tee, look down the fairway, then to your right the Atlantic ocean, pure golfing nirvana. Be sure to bring two things -- you'll need your camera and your A game, a challenge and experience to remember. Worth every penny! Don't miss!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Beach, Alabama
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lunch Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I ran out of time to play golf, so we stopped for lunch and some golf wear. The staff was very warm and friendly and the pub food was good. It was a sunny day and we sat on the deck. We made friends with one of the locals who came out to look at the view from the deck.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Links”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Easy to see why this golf course was recently voted best links in the West. It's a very fair test for all handicaps, with some great holes and spectacular views and challenging when the wind blows. Lovely clubhouse too with good food and sea views everywhere.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walmley, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We called in for lunch and were pleased we dis so. Views from club restaurant are amazing and food was excellent and very reasonably priced. Lovely friendly staff.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Connemara Championship Links also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Connemara Championship Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Connemara Championship Links, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.