We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Connemara Championship Links

Connemara Championship Links
Aillebrack, Ballyconneely, Clifden, Ireland
353 95 23502
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 attractions in Clifden
Type: Golf Courses
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This 18-hole championship golf course has the spectacular Twelve Bens as a backdrop, and challenges the best of players with its massive last six holes that make par a challenge to achieve.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The course was fantastic
I didn't play I was a spectator but I can vouch for the 19th everyone was so helpful friendly the food well priced and varied and the views and walks close by are very special and a great place for golf widows :O)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    8
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
2 reviews
“Great Course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Can't wait to return! Fantastic links course, ocean views, very fair test. Highly recommend the experience

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Breezy and Testing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My golfing friends played there on Saturday 1st June. They came back happy and sunburnt having had and excellent outing. This is a very nice facility with good bar and shop.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great golf Course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Ride on Buggys,Golf course in good order and had a wonderful day, Will be back,Pro shop very helpful and gave us a discount so every little helps,

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“A most enjoyable return visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I really love this place – and would re-state it as one of my favourite links courses.

Why, you may ask? Simple – it provides a fair risk / reward balance for the average golfer. And there are no hidden surprises – what you see is what you get. So if you play badly, well, you can only blame one thing ... the weather (I guess ... never the golfer)??

As I said before, the course is relatively open, particularly on the front nine. But this is never a problem, as wind is almost always a factor here and gives you enough to think about. Our golf society played on two separate days. The first presented us with rain and strong winds – naturally scores were well below par. The second day couldn’t have been more different, with sunshine and lighter winds and gave me the chance to pick up a small prize.

Best of all are the views of the Atlantic and the 12 Bens, which are just magnificent. Mustn’t forget to mention the great views of the clubhouse on its elevated location from about the 14th to the 18th hole – just great! And the elevated greens on the back 9 certainly call for good course management.

When you add on the tasty chowder in the clubhouse and the “ceol agus craic” in the Abbeyglen, where we stayed, it was just about as perfect a few days of golf as you could get.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Connemara Championship Links also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Connemara Championship Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Connemara Championship Links, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Connemara Championship Links to your Saves list