We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and great golf” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Connemara Championship Links

Connemara Championship Links
Aillebrack, Ballyconneely, Clifden, Ireland
353 95 23502
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 attractions in Clifden
Type: Golf Courses
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This 18-hole championship golf course has the spectacular Twelve Bens as a backdrop, and challenges the best of players with its massive last six holes that make par a challenge to achieve.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and great golf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have to say that I love playing this particular golf links. The views of the Atlantic and surrounding countryside and coast are absolutely beautiful.

Although I also enjoy links golf that takes you through tight fairways, winding through the sand dunes, Connemara offers quite a different and more relaxed experience.

Holes on the front nine are quite open, with the wind being the most severe element that you will have to contend with.

The back nine is much more interesting, with the long par three thirteenth that tees off over a valley to an elevated green. Depending on wind direction, driver will be the club of choice for most golfers on this hole. The next hole (a par 5) offers absolutely fabulous views of the Atlantic Ocean from another elevated tee.

The well appointed modern clubhouse has an excellent bar-food menu and excellent views of the surrounding area.

This course is well worth including on an itinerary of golf links on Ireland's west coast and will continue to be a favourite venue for our Dublin based golf group.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    8
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Challenging links in spectacular surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Connemara Golf Links or Ballyconneely as its more commonly known is a challenging links in spectacular surroundings 15Km from Clifden.

The course provides a good test of golf for all handicaps and even if playing bad golf on a windy day you cannot but be uplifted by the magnificent scenery that surrounds you.

This is a course that I would not tire of playing and like all good links courses Ballyconneely never presents itself to you in the same garb two days running.

There is a fine clubhouse with restaurant, bar, locker rooms etc. for post mortems on the days golf.

I look forward to my next visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Golf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

A typical links course followed a lovely lunch in the clubrooms.
Lovely views and the members are very friendly.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I played here on September 22, 2012 and I was really looking forward to the round. The views are really nice and it is truly a challenging links course. The wind was blowing about 70 kms/hour so there were very few people on the course. Although this made the course close to unplayable at times, it didn't take away from enjoying a round of golf. The course was being set up for a pro-am tournament so it was supposed to be in great shape. However, there were a number of tee blocks that were really beat up which surprised me. Further, the rental clubs they provided were the worst I've ever seen for this type of course...very disappointing. Overall, I was expecting better.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnemaraGolfLinks, Manager at Connemara Championship Links, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Donald F,

Thank you for your review, the 22nd September was a rather windy day. I appreciate your honest criticism of our rental clubs and please accept my apologies. We are in the process of negotiating with Taylor Made in regard to rental sets.

Sincerely
Gareth Anthony
Connemara Pro Shop.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Connemara Championship Links - A Terrific Challenge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The golf course has spectacular views. You feel like you are playing at the British Open.

Downside is that is a bit windy.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Connemara Championship Links also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Connemara Championship Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Connemara Championship Links, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Connemara Championship Links to your Saves list