We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere was electric and locals make you feel very welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of E.J. Kings

E.J. Kings
Main Street | The Square, Clifden, Ireland
095 - 21330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 31 Restaurants in Clifden
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Atmosphere was electric and locals make you feel very welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Excellent band played on 22/10/2011 They welcomed requests and really added to our night out. EJ Kings is only a short walk from the Clifden Station House hotel and well worth a visit

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    115
    32
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gresham, Oregon
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pub Music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

A great place during the Clifden Arts Fair days to listen to traditional music.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good and bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Visited E.J's yesterday with my partner. I ordered from the day menu and was told my selection was not available during the day. At that point i felt like leaving, how amateurish i thought. You do not give a customer a menu that does not have certain items available without informing them of such things. However, i refrained from eating and my partner ordered a possibly interesting goats cheese crostini. The food was excellent. Very good size for a snack, well displayed and all of the ingredients were fresh and worked very well together. The service was adequate overall. We won't be returning again though, for the price and service, there is better in town.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Lydon_SweeneyGroup, Public Relations Manager at E.J. Kings, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear Anthonythemuse,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. Naturally we are very disappointed that the service was substandard on this occasion. There is no excuse for poor service at any time. I am truly sorry your experience was somewhat spoiled.

Certainly, this is not indicative of our normal service in EJ's. Our staff have undergone Fáilte Ireland Hospitality Training and this should have been evident on this occassion.

Be assured your comments are welcome and will be addressed immediately as it is our aim to always provide a warm and friendly service in EJ's.

Thank you,
Maura Clancy
Sales & Marketing, EJ King's Bar & Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Turist trap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011 via mobile

It took somthing like 10 minutes for them to give us the menu. Then another 10 to order. The food is ok but overpriced.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Lydon_SweeneyGroup, Public Relations Manager at E.J. Kings, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Worldkot,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are very disappointed to hear of your experience and please accept our sincerest apologies.

Be assured your comments are welcome and will be addressed immediately as it is our aim to always provide a warm and friendly service in EJ's. We hope that you will consider us favourably in the future so that we can offer you a more enjoyable experience.

Kind regards
Maura Clancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved it, what a great spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed outside Clifden for 2wks in July, and found Kings to be just perfect for a beer, even with the kids in tow. We ate in the downstairs bar a few times, but the restaurant upstairs was simply excellent!! Being able to have a meal of that quality, and bring the kids is really special, especially when generally all you are offered is chicken nuggets! The quality of the food was easily comparable to some of the best places I have ever eaten in (we recemtly had a few days at the Old Course Hotel St Andrews!). In terms of value I was massively impressed. This part of Ireland clearly wants to impress its customers, and Kings certainly does that. Great atmosphere and the staff were so attentive and pleasent. Definitely will be making a trip back next year....should I book a table now!! A great example of a truly Irish bar!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed E.J. Kings also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to E.J. Kings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage E.J. Kings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.