We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst service in Ireland” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cullen's Bistro & Coffee House

Cullen's Bistro & Coffee House
Market Street, Clifden, Ireland
095 21983
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 32 Restaurants in Clifden
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“The worst service in Ireland”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

In our lovely 11-day trip around Ireland, we only had one bad experience. Everyone else was friendly and hospitable and made it a trip of a lifetime for my family, but Cullens managed to inject the one sour note.

We stopped by in the mid-afternoon looking for a late lunch, and the sour older woman inside told us that they didn't serve food until 5 PM, only pastries. Fair enough; we walked up the quaint street to another establishment and had a lovely meal. We skipped pudding, thinking we'd revisit Cullens, as the displays of cakes in the counter had seemed nice. We walked in about half six, and we met by the same harridan, who angrily told us that they were serving dinner only, and not only could we not eat our pastries there (there was one couple eating, the rest of the place was empty), but she wouldn't even sell us any for take away. As we turned away to go, she actually cursed at us under her breath but loudly enough that we could all hear her. Not sure what her problem was, but I'd urge people to give this one miserable place a miss and go just about anywhere else in the country. After we arrived back home, my kids are still raving about the family holiday, but they also continue to mention the pasty witch.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    14
    10
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very poor value for money and lack of atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

My husband and i ordered herby bread for starter. The five pieces were so hard we couldn't bite them or cut them. We gave up and our waitress was very apologetic.. We both had salmon and when it arrived the whole plate was covered in food. The salmon was drenched in sauce and the chips were over cooked. There was no atmosphere. Another couple waited 50 mins for vegetarian burgers very patiently. We heard the microwave ping frequently. Long waits. They kindly did not charge for the herby but not an enjoyable experience

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Small but good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We ate at Cullen's several times during our 3 day stay in Clifden. It is a small restaurant on one of the two main streets in the town, it is family-run, the servers (family) are pleasant and attentive and the food is superior quality at bargain prices. The lamb stew was particularly memorable: the lamb was cut into smaller pieces than I have seen elsewhere and was very tender and flavorful. The broth had very little, if any, flour thickener. The broth was just out of this world. The side salad had abundant fresh vegetable. The vegetable soup had more flavor than most others we've tried. The homemade deserts were a notch above what we have had at other good restaurants: we had carrot cake and whiskey cake - both were scrumptious. The restaurant space is small but pleasant; there are half dozen or so tables. The tables near the windows are good for people watching. Prices are quite reasonable relative to the quality of the food and service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandybie, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Glad to find Cullens!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Our meal was delicious, beautifully presented by our happy friendly hostess; our overnight stay on Saturday 4 August 2012 in the Cullens B&B upstairs was very enjoyable; beautiful well-appointed room & a dream of a bed.
We'd go out of our way to stay here again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Will leave no room in your belly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Rather than wait at Mitchell's and be treated as though they are doing you a favor, I recommend this cozy place, where the food is wonderful (especially the Irish stew), the other diners friendly, and the sound level low enough to read or think. Just cash though, no credit cards.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cullen's Bistro & Coffee House also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Cullen's Bistro & Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cullen's Bistro & Coffee House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.