We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guys Bar & Snug

Guys Bar & Snug
Main Street, Clifden, Ireland
095 21130
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 31 Restaurants in Clifden
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Guys Bar and snog is one of the oldest establishments in Clifden, serving a wide range of local dishes daily until 9pm. Evening traditional music sessions throughout the season. Late night music on Thurs/Fri and Sat. A selection of wines by the glass.
Southampton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We ate here twice when we where in Clifden and both times the food was great and the service was great. I would suggest the sticky toffee pudding dessert

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    112
    20
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Second time here - amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

it's the second time I eat at Guys Bar and I wouldn't go anywhere else is Clifden - I can honestly say I had the best mussels of my life there! Crab cakes are amazing too, the wine is very good, the staff is so nice and attentive..my only regret is that I'm not living in Clifden so I can't go more often!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous menu, food and setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

A group of us who completed the Gaelforce Adventure Race dined here on a busy Saturday night. We were happy to have a drink at the bar whilst we waited for our table. We were pretty starved and the quality and quantity of food did not disappoint. I would highly recommend the restaurant, we thought the price was right and we left full and very satisfied...we were also delighted to be able to buy individual 1/4 bottles of Prosecco at the bar...there was also a great seafood menu and the lamb and sea bass specials were top notch! Looking forward to dining here again..

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Ordered a Guy's Burger with blue cheese and onions ... fabulous - came with chips and a salad - very filling - come hungry ... I had to leave food. The wait staff was friendly and welcoming to all - myself as a lone traveler, families with young children, older couples ... fun to watch.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

When we stayed in Clifdon for the weekend we ate here twice. The food was top notch. Staff were extremely efficient. Reasonably priced and has a great atmosphere. Very well run and was my favorite place in the town.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guys Bar & Snug also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Guys Bar & Snug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guys Bar & Snug, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.