We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mitchell's restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mitchell's Restaurant

Mitchell's Restaurant
Market Street, Clifden, Ireland
+3539521867
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 32 Restaurants in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mitchell's restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 NEW

Friendly waiters and nice atmosphere but the food was undecidely average and in my opinion slightly overpriced. The scallops were cooked well but the monkfish overdone as were the veg and potatoes. No better than I could cook at home but not a terrible experience.

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    147
    47
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Lovely cakes.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015 NEW

Beautifully decorated tea room with lovely views. A great choice of hot, cold food. Great choice of home made cakes and scones.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“LOVED the chowder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015 NEW

Stopped for lunch. Great place. EVERYTHING was good (I sampled some of my companion's food). I had the chowder and it was AMAZING.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Dinner at Mitchell's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015 NEW

Great fish food and great value.We had 3 courses for Eur 27. Fantastic value.the sea food was delicious and the service was outstanding.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great experience as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015 NEW

Popped in for the early bird with two friends and we each had a glass of prosecco with our excellent value three course meal. I sampled the fish cakes (which came with a side of chowder...great for someone stuck between two choices as I always am!), then fish pie for mains. The memory is slightly hazy as to my dessert but I remember that each course was fresh, presented excellently and more importantly incredibly delicious. A nice ambience and lovely staff really added to the experience. Great value on the early bird too.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitchell's Restaurant also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Mitchell's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitchell's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.