We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mitchell's Restaurant

Mitchell's Restaurant
Market Street, Clifden, Ireland
+3539521867
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 31 Restaurants in Clifden
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Paris
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I had a late lunch there two weeks ago after receiving two recommendations from locals and it was just delicious. The food was simply delicious. I had breaded calamari, the best I have ever eaten, the sauce to eat the calamari with was a perfect blend of savors, the bread was reallly good too and the dessert (chocolate nut pudding if I remember the name corectly) just perfect, not too sweet or heavy after the calamari. The prices were very reasonable too. Good food, good price, good service and the decoration was nice too.
Really a place to recommend, no wonder this is the first place that the locals will tell you about.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    143
    43
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I like this restaurant..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Super good food and wine organic.the service is very correct.
The time between the plates is calculate.the bill is not more expensive.let's go to Mitchell's.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Sea Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We dined here the two nights we were in Clifden - Food was excellent as was the service. 3 course special evening meal is very good value. It is advisable to book in advance though

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
486 reviews 486 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
“Good quality seafood restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were told by our B&B owner that we'd be lucky to get in as they would be booked up. And we were confused over opening times. However as we walked past the restaurant about 5.30pm it was open and we were offered a table after 9 unless we would be prepared to eat upstairs then. That's what we did.
Quiet, unassuming service and a good menu mostly of seafood. My oysters were superb at €22.00 for an excellent dozen. The fillet of haddock was equally good. Three courses with a bottle of affordable wine from a good list across a reasonable price range was €122.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant in lovely town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Went to Mitchell's as a stop on our trip round Connemara. Had a wonderful calamari as a starter, then a fish bake and salmon pancakes for each of us. Absolutely delicious. The service was warm and friendly, as was the town in which Mitchell's is located.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitchell's Restaurant also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Mitchell's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitchell's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.