We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we went two nights in a row!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mitchell's Restaurant

Mitchell's Restaurant
Market Street, Clifden, Ireland
+3539521867
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 32 Restaurants in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“So good we went two nights in a row!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We recently spent two nights in Clifden and were advised to eat at Mitchells. Our first night was so good we returned the next evening. The set menu of three courses for 25.50 was terrific and three of our party ate from that menu which had lots of choice and included seafood as well as meat options. I had the seafood chowder to start followed by the seafood plate and both were absolutely delicious. The seafood plate included generous portions of poached salmon, smoked salmon, crab, oysters, prawns and mussels. Good service and a varied choice of wines at reasonable prices made it a great night. Will highly recommend and hope to return.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    147
    47
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“perfect place to bring Gaeltacht students for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

professional operation, very pleasant environment, tasty dishes and reasonable prices for lunch makes this a great option when bringing students out for the day.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A real treat. Wonderful food and special experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Every single bite was heavenly. And the service was charming and professional. Will have to come back to Clifden just to get another taste of the Scampi at Mitchell's. Very comfortable seating, tasteful decor and perfect lighting.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service could be a notch better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

If you value the quality of food higher than the service, you will like this place. Our food was simply excellent (mussels, vegetable soup, Parmesan chicken, salmon), yet the waiters could be a trifle more relaxed (spilled wine, set the table in a sloppy manner). The owner of the place had a friendly chit-chat with every party that we thought to be locals, but he adamantly ignored us "tourists".
The Australian Shiraz on their wine menu can be highly recommended. It is very reasonably priced and tastes great. Also, they have an early bird evening special that offers very good value for money.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Memorably great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Delivered more than expected for being in a tourist town. Beautiful rooms, attentive but not overbearing service, tables a little close together but the room acoustics made it easy to carry on a conversation without hearing everyone else. Varied menu, emphasizing seafood. I have never had oysters this good - extraordinarily fresh, and a richness I didn't know oysters could have. My wife had the mussels as an appetizer and a smoked salmon and crab salad entree - portions large, salmon again very fresh. My baked salmon with a little sorrel sauce was one of the best seafood entrees I've ever had. Great wine list at reasonable prices. Too full for dessert but the list was basic.
Overall, one of those dinners we'll be talking about for years to come.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitchell's Restaurant also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Mitchell's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitchell's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.