We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gannon's B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gannon's B&B to your Saves list
Gannon's B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Main Street | The Square, Clifden, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 46 Clifden B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The B&B is in the centre of town, close to pubs, restaurants and shops. It is a modern building and (lucky us) we were in the owner's apartment. Very spacious, clean and all facilities provided. Nice continental breakfast with plenty of choice including fresh fruit. A surprise for us as this week was the annual arts festival with live music and poetry in the pubs and streets, however we were unable to stay longer but did enjoy one evening. Car parking was free in the street between 6pm to 11am.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    11
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
30
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Our holiday in Ireland had us visit Clifden and our choice of accommodation could not have been better. We arrived on a drizzly day but Gerry made us very welcome - made us feel like friends rather than 'guests'. The bedroom was big and bright, the living area (complete with comfy lounges and tv) was just the place to sit and put our feet up with a glass of wine. The kitchen/dining was delightful and available for our use if we wished. The continental breakfast was a lovely change from the normal cooked breakfast we had been having everywhere else and the use of a washing machine and dryer was an added bonus. Gannon's B&B is right n the centre of town and there was no problem with parking for our hire car. It was such a beautiful place to stay we were sorry we could only stay one night due to our holiday itinerary. We will be telling everyone about Gannon's B&B - it was simply the best !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our group of seven stayed here for 4 days late August. We arrived on a rainy afternoon to find a fire going & flowers on the table. The facility is excellent in all respects from the modern Kitchen to the spacious bedroom. A short walk to anything in the city. Mr. Gannon most accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The perfect Irish experience. Gerry and Siobhan put out so much extra effort and went above and beyond to make sure that every aspect of our stay was exceptional - like we were the only guests they had ever had. Their warm hospitality was really remarkable - a true a gift - we felt like family from the moment we arrived. The B&B was immaculate and the breakfasts were the best meal of the day. Located just off the town square, we were within walking distance of all the shops, restaurants, and pubs. The common room was comfortable and inviting and the outdoor deck provided a quiet place to relax and enjoy a morning coffee or the evening air. Highest marks for Gannon's B&B - I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Go as soon as you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Super place to stay, excellent location! Bright spacious rooms with use of a living room and kitchen. Gerry & Siobhan are excellent hosts! Very substantial continental breakfast with lots of choice. Home from home!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I can't say enough about the hospitality we received from the Gannons during our trip to Clifden. From the first day (we stayed 8 days) we were treated like family. The B&B rooms were immaculate and serviced daily. The common areas were comfortable and felt like home. Walking distance to all restaurants, shops, and pubs. Without a doubt, one of the best travel experiences I have ever had. Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

if the typical B&B felling is important to you, then the gannon's is not the right place. it's more a hotel without reception. it lacks the personal touch of a B&B compleatly. the rooms are big and the bathrooms of very good standard. the breakfast is also good - with cheese and cerials, but no irish breakfast, porridge or eggs.

on the down side: the walls are thin like paper. you hear from the neighbour room everything - starting with the TV, ending up with the toilet. it was beyond all bearing.

even with the pros, i would not go back to this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gannon's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gannon's B&B

Address: Main Street | The Square, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gannon's B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Gannon's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gannon's B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.