We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Motorhome stopover in Adare” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adare Camping and Caravan Park

Adare Camping and Caravan Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Adare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Adare Camping and Caravan Park
Save
You added Adare Camping and Caravan Park to your Saves list
Drehidtrasna, Adare, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Brent Knoll, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Motorhome stopover in Adare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed one night on our mini tour of Ireland.
We were welcomed by the lady on our arrival and quickly parked our motorhome.
This site was quiet and the sun came out making it a very relaxing stay.
We cycled into Adare in the evening for a drink in one of the (many) bars and had a fantastic meal in one of the restaurants.
The shower block was fine for us, but looked like it could do with some TLC inside.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    4
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Adare is a very picturesque little town and well worth a visit. My sister, our partners and my mother and I stayed here for one night camping on a Saturday night it cost 43 euro for two tents with 5 adults which is very reasonable. It is around 5 mins by car to Adare which cost us 3 euro a head for a taxi, we got list of taxi numbers from the tourist office which was handy. The facilities are basic and clean but unfortunately the owner was extremely rude to us when we arrived. As we unpacked the car he came over to us and warned us not to drink the bottles of beer we had brought as it is a "quiet site after 11pm" I would understand his concerns if we were a group of teenagers but as we did not have an excessive amount of alcohol I was highly offended by his manor and premature judgement. I have been to many campsites in Ireland and this is the only place that i have ever felt so unwelcome. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

We stayed in this caravan site to attend a family wedding. I must say we were disappointed! The showers (50cent charge) were very hit or miss and the cleanliness was not up to expectations. I realise that this is the beginning of the season and the site was very quiet but still the standards were not up to scratch. For 30 euros per night we expected more. The hot tub looked unused and I certainly would not fancy getting in! The whole place looked as if it needed some tender loving care!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

Visited this site recently on our way to Tralee. Loved the secluded area ouside Adare. If you have no transport or bicycle it's a bit rural, but ideal for peace and quietness. The kitchen/cooking area was basic but workable, the shower/toilet block was absolutely spotless. The best we have ever come across to date. The owners obviously have pride in their site and it was evident in the well kept grass area and general upkeep. An ideal spot for families with young children. They had two rabbits, a donkey, horse, a friendly dog and a farm walk.
The particular night we stayed there were a lot of visitors with dogs because of the dog show the following day but we had no problem with barking dogs which was a plus. A lovely experience and we would certainly return to this site again.

  • Liked — It was so clean and well kept.
  • Disliked — There was no lighting at night which I think every camping site should have
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

This is a super quiet site in lovely countryside. The owners are lovely and so helpful.

Our children had hours of fun with Jessie the dog and feeding the rabbits and a soak in the hot tub is a must!!

Adare village is only a short distance away with a good selection of small shops, park and riverside walk. If you visit in July recommend the traditional Irish night in the Heritage Centre, this gives a true flavour of Irish song & dance.

  • Liked — Very spacious camping area and excellent location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adare Camping and Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adare Camping and Caravan Park

Address: Drehidtrasna, Adare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Adare
Number of rooms: 25

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adare Camping and Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.