We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oasis of attention and care.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limerick Rd, Knockanes, Adare, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Adare
GreenLeadersBronze level
ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“oasis of attention and care.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

Stayed recently two nights in this hotel and had the best nights sleep ever. I requested anti allergy pillows, which were supplied and all our other requests, ie iron, extra lamp etc were catered to immediately. Buzzing hotel yet the noise did not permiate the rooms. Breakfast was excellent and well presented.Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsadare, Proprietor at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2010
Many thanks for your very kind words. The team here in Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel very much appreciate the same.

On your next visit, please make sure to contact me directly in advance of arrival so that I can say an extra thank you in person.

Kind Regards

Elaina
efitzgerald@woodlands-hotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    366
    126
    46
    26
    18
See reviews for
177
163
8
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

We just had our wedding reception at the Woodlands and it was fantastic!! From the first visit meeting with David we were given the VIP treatment. The staff members are so helpful and their attention to detail is second to none. We can’t wait to celebrate our first anniversary in Adare.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsadare, Proprietor at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2010
We vey much appreciate your feedback & we were delighted to be part of your special wedding celebration.

May all of your dreams be realised together.

See you on your wedding anniversary.

David, Elaina & all of the team in Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

wonderful staff who were aware of the occasion and gave us an anniversary to remember. Personal touch from both ownersand staff - second to none... I would highly recommed and will certainly revisit

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsadare, Proprietor at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2010
Many thanks for your very kind feedback. The team were delighted to receive the same. Wishing you both a very Happy New Year. Please make sure to let me know if you are staying with us again so that I can say thank you in person.

Kind Regards

Elaina, David and the team in Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayo
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

having stayed previously in your hotel we were looking foward to our break.As usual we were not disappointed.on arrival we were greeted by your friendly staff who couldnt do enough to help us .We were looking for an upgrade to a suite but ye had none available but your staff gave us a nice large room.Food was fantastic couldnt fault it service was excellent.Met owner in the hotel bar very friendly chatty man.was our first break with our little one very family friendly hotel.
Am going to return in jan with my mum for a quiet break away.
Looking foward to it already.
lynn mayo

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsadare, Proprietor at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2010
Thank you so much for your very kind comments. We look forward to your next visit. Please make sure and let us know when you are coming so that we can endeavour to say a big thank you in person.

Kind Regards

Elaina, David and the team in Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

Dear David

Just a quick note to say a huge thanks for a great breakfast, you and your staff anticipated everyone’s tastes and needs, I was so impressed as I did not expect such a variety of choices, Berries and natural yogurt being my first choice, was a surprise, along with the juices, smoothies, and other food choices too many to mention.

Congratulations and very well done, but on reflection I guess it should not be that much of a surprise to me as my family and myself have made the woodlands our gathering place for family occasions over the years. Therefore I do not have to elaborate on the esteem we as a family and I hold for the Woodlands

Sincerely Yours,
Paschal Rowland

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newry
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

i was looking 4 a hotel in adare looked at a few other hotels in adare but there were not very friendly. As soon as u walk in the hotel its very homely staff our lovely couldnt do enough for u. the first time we stayed was last november, we been back 3 our 4 times and have took family back with us. they very child friendly lots 4 them to do. My wedding is in february and david in the hotel is a great help to us, as im from armagh and my fiance is from kerry. he help us getting numbers for bands, video men, flowers, cars. We could as for more. by the way the spa is out of this world it's a must.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

my husband and I stayed in your hotel Fitzgeralds Woodlands in October. we paid a rate of €130 for double room.

I was absolutely disgusted at the state of the room... there were cobwebs hanging from the ceiling, the grouting on the bathroom tiles was dirty, ceiling was black from mildew.
one of our bedside lockers had a broken lamp and contained a previous guest's spectalcle cleaning cloth!! the other bedside locker had a sticky drawer knob (as if from sticky sweets, I hope!) the seat of the chair at the dressing table was badly stained, so we couldn't sit on it. The bed itself seemed clean, we didn't get to it till early morning....

While I didn't complain when we booked in (we were rushing to a wedding), I did point out all this at the desk when settling the bill, and was disappointed that no effort was made to compensate in price.
The Manager subsequently made a "gesture" by refunding €27 to my credit card, (which I did not authorise him to do)....bringing it to the cost of a standard room...if this was a standard room I would hate to think what the others were likel

having stayed in a hotel in Kilkenny the previous weekend in a fabulous hotel, and having gone on to Kilarney on leaving the Woodlands and stayed in a very clean, fresh hotel room, at similar rates, I found the comparison just appalling!

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel

Address: Limerick Rd, Knockanes, Adare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Adare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the edge of the beautifully, quaint village of Adare, Co. Limerick, the Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel in Limerick, is owned and managed by the Fitzgerald Family. As a member of Irish Country Hotels, it is part of the first hotel group to be received Guaranteed Irish membership. The hotel features the Fáilte Ireland Award Winning, Revas Spa, one of the most popular Spa Hotels in Limerick, and a fully equipped gym and leisure centre.The hotel is ideal for leisure breaks in Ireland, convenient for conference meetings and not to mention a stunning venue for your wedding. Join us and let our family look after yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Hotel
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Adare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.