We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding & unforgettable wedding day experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel to your Saves list
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limerick Rd, Knockanes, Adare, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding & unforgettable wedding day experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We recently got married in the Woodlands hotel, it was perfect from start to finish! Couldn't fault a thing, the reception was exactly what I asked for, the food amazing quantity & quality!! (guests are still talking about the dessert trolleys) the staff were very pleasant & helpful.
Thank you so much to all the staff of Fitzgeralds Woodlands for making our wedding day one we will never forget!
Triona & Graham.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Triona & Graham,

Thank you both so much for the fabulous review of our hotel and your wedding reception. We were delighted to be a part of your special day and it makes all our efforts worthwhile knowing you had such a fabulous day.

We specialize in hosting weddings and we really enjoy being part of the most important day of a couple's lives. We really try to make it as stress free as possible for the couple and we are delighted to hear that your experience reflects our efforts. It is lovely to hear that your guests were happy with the food and service provided. It was our pleasure to host the special day.

Thanks also for your kind praise of the food served as well as the efficiency of our team. It is also lovely to hear that your guests were happy and enjoyed the dessert trolleys.

It was our pleasure to host the special day and we are so delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful and happy day here with us.

Thanks again for your wonderful review. Hope to see you both again very soon.

Kind Regards,
Elaina Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    149
    57
    32
    22
See reviews for
222
202
10
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dungarvan, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We recently had our wedding reception at the Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel in Adare. The food was excellent and everyone of the staff were super. Their attention to detail and the service they provided was more than what we expected. We would highly recommend this hotel for a wedding or for anything else.
A Big Thank you to the Fitzgerald family and all the staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review of our hotel and your wedding reception. We were delighted to be a part of your special day and it makes all our efforts worthwhile knowing you had such a fabulous day.

We specialize in hosting weddings and we really enjoy being part of the most important day of a couple's lives. We really try to make it as stress free as possible for the couple and we are delighted to hear that your experience reflects our efforts. It was our pleasure to host your special day.

Thanks also for your kind praise of the food served as well as the efficiency of our team. It is genuinely much appreciated by all of us as the staff is a valuable asset in our hotel.

It was our pleasure to host your special day and we are so delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful and happy day here with us.

Thanks again for your wonderful review. There is no greater pleasure than a couple like you recommending us. Hope to see you both again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, UK
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We booked this accommodation well in advance and were mostly not disappointed. Although Woodlands seems to cater mainly for overnight bus travellers, who arrive at about 5pm each evening and then depart at 8am the following morning, weddings, and business conferences, the rooms in the hotel as well as the common areas are spacious and comfortable, and (almost all) the staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located in green and wooded grounds on the road to Croom; so, if you are coming from Limerick, turn left at the first small roundabout. It's about half to 3/4 miles on the right.

Woodlands serves a wonderful Irish/ English breakfast in Timmy Macs, including tasty lean bacon. They also do a good, reasonably priced lunch. Timmy Macs is not fine dining but it's good value and comfortable.

Although we encountered the refurbishment, we were fortunate in it not bothering us; indeed, one of the workers took our luggage to our car when we checked out; and like almost all the staff, they were friendly folks.

There were a few other minor problems, which we should not have experienced, starting with checkin. We arrived very late from Shannon. No one at reception. A somewhat fierce young woman with a smile-bypass appeared after a few minutes' fruitless search for a staff member. No "How are you? Welcome to Woodlands, etc." Rather, she just presented us with a form to sign, presumed my name, called a bellman, and gave us our key. (Every person we encountered, starting with the friendly woman at Avis at Shannon through to the rest of the staff at Woodlands, was friendly). I asked whether she had received our email informing the hotel that we would check at about 11pm. She told me they had not received it. Hmm. What's the point of the page on hotel's website asking for information? Message to management: your receptionist is in the wrong job! And, someone needs to check emails. (Indeed, the other receptionists we encountered at the same desk were most friendly and helpful). Guests do not really want this experience on arrival.

Unfortunately, there was more: we discovered that there were only 6 shirt hangers in the closet. We called the same woman, explained that we were staying for 3 nights and needed more. She told us that we would have to wait till 9am the following morning before the hotel could oblige us with more hangers: the upshot, we had to arrange our unpacked on the available chair and settee and other surfaces around the room.

Second message to management: provide more shirt hangers. Everyone does not wear the same clothes for 3 days!

Third message to management: replace the cheap, unsupportive, mattress in room 503. I suffered backache for several days after.

Fourth message to management: the ventilation in the room needs improving. Although our room was spacious, it was stuffy, even in late June. I can imagine it being unbearable in July or August.

Taking these problems together, we wondered whether the Woodlands management see catering for overnight bus visitors and conferences as more important than individual visitors. That would be a pity, if so, as the hotel/resort has a lot to offer, especially if these problems are fixed.

Despite these problems, we enjoyed our stay at Woodlands and, if we return to the area, would stay there again - albeit following management assurances that the above problems have been rectified. It's a great location, spacious, and one (generally) feels comfortable, at least when vertical.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Guest feedback has been the bedrock of our success over the last 30 years.

We would firstly like to thank you for your kind comments on the comfort and spaciousness of our bedrooms and our common areas in the hotel, as well as our staff who are a very valuable asset to our business. Thank you also for your positive comments on our extensive Irish buffet and our Timmy Macs Bistro. You feedback is very much appreciated.

We are also very pleased to hear that our recent refurbishments caused no inconvenience or disturbances for you during your stay and we are delighted that the workers that you encountered were friendly and helped in carrying your luggage.

However despite hearing your positive comments, we are very disappointed to learn of the minor problems that you experienced during your stay.

I am glad to hear your experience of our staff was pleasant. The issue with the receptionist you encountered has been discussed and dealt with. We apologise the shirt hangers you requested were not delivered to your room on the evening of your arrival. I assure you this is not our standard practice. The comfort of our beds is something that we regularly get positive feedback on. I am sorry if you felt yours was not up to standard. Again this issue has been checked and dealt with following your departure.

We have recently been experiencing very hot weather which is not the norm for Ireland! For this reason our rooms did become stuffy but fans were provided to all guests, when requested.

We pride ourselves in taking care of all our guests, be that leisure, tours, weddings or corporate. All guests are given the same standard of service.

Again I thank you for taking the time to write a review ad I am glad to hear that you would recommend us and that you would re visit if in the area. Please let us know if you are planning to stay again and we will endeavor to provide an upgrade with our compliments.

Kind Regards,
Elaina Fitzgerald Kane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed here back in March and felt I should leave a review and keep on forgetting so finally got a chance. Was here for a wedding what a night. The food was typical wedding food but there was pleanty and i mean plenty. The beef was lovely and tender and very juicy and the mountain of potatoes with all that butter i thought i was in heaven.. Wasnt gone on the dessert but i prefer savoury to sweet anyway. The room was lovely decorated and the staff were wonderful... Will come back for a break again but intend to use the spa and leisure club next time... Forgot to mention the breakfast plenty of it as well

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We would like to thank you so much for taking some time to post such a lovely review of our hotel. It really is so complimentary and makes all of our efforts so worthwhile. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel as well as the wedding that you attended.

We would like to thank you for the kind words you said about our food and our extensive breakfast buffet and are glad to hear that you were pleased with the service provided by our staff here at the hotel. In relation to our bedrooms, for the past six months, we have been undergoing a refurbishment programme so we are very glad to hear that you were happy with your bedroom.

We are delighted to hear that you will be back and we hope that you get the chance to enjoy our leisure facilities next time.

Thanking you again for your kind review and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Elaina Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Went to a friends wedding and stayed the one night . Booked a standard room for €99 . On arrival at 2 pm we were told the room wasn't ready til 4 pm so we had to wait around . Eventually just before 4 room still was not ready to we were given a "superior" room. After the 5 minute walk to the room we saw the room was dated and not the cleanest. Leak stains on the ceiling and dirty hand marks everywhere. Definately not worth the extra €40. Wedding on the other hand was very nice and food was good. Experience was sadly let down by the room.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thanking you for taking the time to post a review. Guest feedback has been the bedrock of our success over the last 30 years.

We’re happy to hear of your compliments of the wedding that you attended, and we’re glad you enjoyed the hotel, particularly the food that we are renowned for. However, we’re disappointed to hear of your experiences with your room. We take pride in each and every aspect of our hotel and our guest’s experiences are our top priority. We sincerely apologise that your room was not ready on arrival and we are sorry to hear that upon arriving in your room, you found it to be dated and not very clean. We have been undergoing a refurbishment programme over the last 6 months in order to update our bedrooms and it has yet to be completed. It is very out of the ordinary to hear a complaint on the cleanliness of our rooms. However I will discuss this with the accommodation staff and bring your matter to their attention.

We appreciate you sharing the details. Please know that I have discussed your points with the management team. I want to assure you the situation is being looked into, and we are in the process of correcting these issues to improve the quality of our guest’s stays.

Thanking you once again for taking the time to complete your review.

Kind Regards,
Elaina Fitzgerald Kane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quitman, Texas
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I agree with an earlier review about the difficulty of rolling one's luggage through 12 doors to get from the lobby to one's room. Property refurbishment takes time, and we were very unhappy upon settling into our rooms (410 and 412) to hear ear-deafening drilling in the bathroom of an adjacent room. The present heat wave necessitated keeping the windows open, thereby exacerbating the problem. The noise went on for about 45 minutes after we expressed our displeasure to management. We were assured that it would not be repeated during the remainder of our two-night stay. At dinner in Timmy's that night our drinks were comped to make up for the inconvenience. ... That being said, our rooms had already been refurbished and were beautiful and quite comfortable. Our meals were delicious, and we enjoyed sitting at one of the outside tables in front of the hotel on a beautiful sunny afternoon. Very nice setting for a hotel - this is understandably a popular spot for weddings and other corporate events.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel.

We would like to sincerely apologise for any disturbances and inconvenience that our recent refurbishments may have caused you during your stay. In relation to our bedrooms, for the past six months, we have been undergoing a refurbishment programme in this area. We understand that there has been quite a high noise level during this time and we apologise for this.

However we greatly appreciate your positive comments on the décor of your newly refurbished bedroom. It really is so complimentary and makes all of our efforts so worthwhile. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals and we are delighted that you were lucky enough to experience some fine sunny weather during your stay, We are particularly delighted that you commented on our lovely grounds as we are surrounded by 40 acres of farmland.

Thanking you once again for posting your review. We apologise once again for any inconvenience caused during you stay and we do hope to see you again in the near future. Please let us know if you are planning to stay again and we will endeavor to provide an upgrade with our compliments.

Kind Regards,
Elaina Fitzgerald Kane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in mid-June for one night. The hotel property was very nice. To say it is a hotel is a misnomer, it really is a resort property. Although we did not have the chance to use the facilities, it did make us want to return someday.

The room we had was a family room, with a very large main room, a separate bedroom with twin beds, a dining area and a large bathroom. The rooms were in good shape, but were a bit dated and in need of updating. While we were there they were in the process of updating some rooms and I hope they continue on to all of the rooms.

The main room was oval shaped and had windows in a semi-circle around the room. The bed was a neat 70's style round bed, which was great for nostalgia, but was not as comfortable as it could have been. We did have the fortunate/unfortunate experience of being in Adare when it was very sunny and warm. This made the walk around the town very pretty, but the room did not have air conditioning and so it was stuffy and hot. The windows opened up only at the top and did not provide enough circulation.

Overall, we had a decent experience at the hotel and will check it out again if we should find ourselves in Adare again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to complete your review. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us and we appreciate your kind feedback.

Thanking you for your kinds words about our hotel. We are sorry to hear that you did not get the chance to experience our leisure facilities, however we hope that you will return someday to experience what we have to offer.

Thank you for your comments in relation to your bedroom. For the past 6 months we have indeed been carrying out refurbishments to our bedrooms and it has not yet been completed. We are very sorry to hear that you did not find your bed to be as comfortable as expected. The weather has been extremely hot and humid of recent times and we understand that the rooms can be quite stuffy so we do apologise for this. The windows in that particular room are quite large and for safety reasons can only be opened at the top half.

Thanking you for posting your review and for your positive feedback. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable overall experience. We hope to see you in Adare again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Elaina Fitzgerald Kane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel

Address: Limerick Rd, Knockanes, Adare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the edge of the beautifully, quaint village of Adare, Co. Limerick, the Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel in Limerick, is owned and managed by the Fitzgerald Family. As a member of Irish Country Hotels, it is part of the first hotel group to be received Guaranteed Irish membership. The hotel features the Fáilte Ireland Award Winning, Revas Spa, one of the most popular Spa Hotels in Limerick, and a fully equipped gym and leisure centre.The hotel is ideal for leisure breaks in Ireland, convenient for conference meetings and not to mention a stunning venue for your wedding. Join us and let our family look after yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Hotel
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Adare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.