We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night break in Adare.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limerick Rd, Knockanes, Adare, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
GreenLeadersBronze level
Watergrasshill, Ireland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“2 night break in Adare.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

A very nice 2 night stay in Adare. Staff were very friendly both in the hotel and the gym, and we found all facilities were excellent. The gym and pool were modern and well maintained. Breakfast was buffet style on the first morning, and table service on the second, both days it was very tasty with good quality bacon and plenty of other options available such as cereals and fruit. The dark soda bread was gorgeous. Hotel rooms were spotlessly clean with nice thick towels and bed sheets.
Only small complaint is that you can't turn the light off by the step during the night, I know it is to stop guests from falling over, but as a light sleeper I had to push my case up to it in order to block most of it out and I thankfully had a good 2 nights sleep in a very comfortable bed. Also you have to factor in the €17 return we paid in a taxi if you want a night out in Adare itself.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    131
    49
    29
    19
See reviews for
190
171
9
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at Woodlands House Hotel on Saturdey night. The biggest thing I can take away was how friendly and helpful the staff were. Every one of them starting at the receptionist to the guys serving us in the restaurant. We remarked on the lovely breown bread and asked for the recipe. It turns out that it is top secret and belongs to the grandmother of the owner. The waiter got us extra to take away with us without being prompted. Must mention that the steak was up there with the best we have had anywhere. I commend the training given to the staff at this family run hotel. I noted that Mrs Fitzgerald had acted as President of the Irish Hoteliers Federation. it showed and I hope all Irish hotels can follwo her example. The breakfast was first class and the bistro it was served in was very homely and inviting.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunboyne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful weekend spent at the Woodland’s Hotel in Adare. I can’t thank you all enough.

From the moment we arrived everything was perfect from our gorgeous room ( including the lovely personal touch of chocolate strawberries and marshmallows) to the delicious dinner in Fielding’s Restaurant.
We will definitely be back .
Anna

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I just wanted to say a big thank you to all the team for the birthday celebration we had last Saturday evening (26th Jan). The food was excellent and the staff were great. I'll definitely be back! Looking after the 17 of us was a challenge but the services was fast and accurate. Plenty of parking was also useful

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElainaFitzgeraldKane, Owner at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hello John

We would like to thank you very much for posting such a lovely review on tripadvisor. Our guests' feedback is very important to us and has contributed greatly to our 30 years of success.

We delighted to hear that you, your family and friends enjoyed the birthday celebrations in Timmy Macs Bistro. Good food is our tradition and we are delighted you could experience this. We are very proud of our staff and we are glad they took care of you.

Thanking you again John for your kind words.

We look forward to looking after you again.

Elaina Fitzgerald Kane and Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We used this hotel twice recently as we had a bereavement locally. The owner and staff went out of their way to help and make our stay as present as possible. We were all very pleased with the service and plan to return very soon under better circumstances to experience what is on offer.
I will be recommending this hotel to all my friends. Thanks again for all your help

Room Tip: There is no lift so let them know as early as possible and you will be accommodated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Cork
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Have returned to this hotel every year (sometimes twice) for the last 10yrs (that alone should say it's worth it ) Lovely friendly family run hotel....fantastic food....w'end entertainment....kids club.....fab spa & hair salon, all in the peaceful country side, only walking distance (good 15min walk) to Adare village (well worth a visit too) only 20 mins to Limerick city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

A lovely friendly hotel, staff were very nice, food excellent, we had a lovely experience in the spa. Outdoor jacuzzi was fab. Entertainment in bar excellent .. Beds very comfy, room lovely and warm but decor could do with a little revamp. We really enjoyed our stay and will definetly be back

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel

Address: Limerick Rd, Knockanes, Adare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the edge of the beautifully, quaint village of Adare, Co. Limerick, the Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel in Limerick, is owned and managed by the Fitzgerald Family. As a member of Irish Country Hotels, it is part of the first hotel group to be received Guaranteed Irish membership. The hotel features the Fáilte Ireland Award Winning, Revas Spa, one of the most popular Spa Hotels in Limerick, and a fully equipped gym and leisure centre.The hotel is ideal for leisure breaks in Ireland, convenient for conference meetings and not to mention a stunning venue for your wedding. Join us and let our family look after yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Hotel
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Adare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.