We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in a very small village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunraven Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dunraven Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Dunraven Arms Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main St, Adare, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in a very small village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in April. Adare is a very small village and you only need a few hours to see everything. However, it was a decent location to explore a few sites in the general area. The hotel was nice and my wife enjoyed the spa. Good parking, which helped. The beds were very nice and overall the hotel was good, except we were somewhat unhappy with the breakfest.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    167
    63
    31
    29
See reviews for
150
319
17
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Adare is a lovely village and there is much to see in the surrounds too. We chose Dunraven Arms because the price of Adare Manor was so high. We feel like we made the perfect choice. The hotel is across the street and you can walk up to the Manor and see the whole thing and the grounds. (you cannot, however, go inside!) Anyway - we loved our spacious room. The staff were extremely friendly - no matter who saw you in the hallway there was alway a pleasant "hello". The hotel has charm and character - its not brand new, but its very well kept and very clean, and very nicely decorated. The basic (executive) guest rooms are very large!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband and i attended a wedding at this hotel on Sat and it was lovely.The hotel itself is old but really well kept.It has beautiful gardens and a really cosy atmosphere.The wedding meal was really good and the staff were constantly making sure everyone had enough of everything.Im sure any couple getting married would love this hotel.It has a perfect location in the beautiful picturesque Adare with a fabulous park accross the road for pics if required.loved it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Dunraven Arms Hotel was a lovely hotel I had the privilege to stay last July in Adare, the famous Irish town that I wanted so much to visit. Right from the start the receptionist upgraded me to a very beautiful room overlooking a garden. Their estate is simply marvelous, the gardens are so beautifully kept and it was a pleasure to see some of it from my bedroom. My room was very comfortable, very clean and quiet. The breakfast was a real delight (one of the three best breakfasts I had in Ireland). They had a swimming pool and it was wonderful to relax there one afternoon. I found all the staff very nice and polite. The price was great too, so even if I could return again I would prefere staying there than in a 5-star-hotel in Adare. I have very good memories of this hotel. Keep up with the good work! Remember always that people really make a difference in a hotel and not only the property in itself. The tourist office is right next door, which in my case was very helpful and I was able to visit Adare's Castle with the best guide of all Ireland, in my opinion, Mikie. I'll cherish these memories forever.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Attended a wedding at this hotel at the week-end.. We were really looking forward to our one night stay.. Charming hotel and a tad shabby.. The views and the garden are lovely.. Our room was spacious,, but no tea/coffee making facilities , which is very unusual for an Irish Hotel (probably the hotel's idea of austeritiy)... The wedding itself was lovely, but the service for dinner was very slow and my table had to return our soup,, because it was cold.. The waiting staff were friendly, but most of them were students, so I think a little more training might help.... Breakfast next more was completely disappointing in fact very average... The Limerick Ham instead of Bacon on first glance looked wonderful, but the taste and fattiness was not great at 10am in the morning... Lastly.. checking in.. and checking out.. what a disaster.. The whole reception area needs a total rethink... charming indeed, old World indeed.. a little modernization would not go astray.. and the phone should not be answered when guests are checking in our out.. A total no no.. Ps.. We paid for our room via credit in advance ie January with the payment taken out immediately..

Room Tip: Rooms on the garden side are quieter....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Dun Raven Arms has gorgeous spacious rooms, a sumptious breakfast buffet, helpful and friendly staff, wi-fi in the rooms, manicured grounds, and free parking adjacent to the hotel.
We loved being in Adare, such a charming small town characterized by lots of thatched roofs.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We were charmed by the room and our welcome at reception. The view was gorgeous and the bathroom lovely - but no tea/coffee.
We didn't dine in, walking up the street to the Arches (excellent meal).
Our deal included breakfast which was very disappointing - not the normal friendliness you expect in Ireland. A pot of tea for 3 had one tea bag, and my wife's decaffeinated coffee was cold and the replacement was stewed.
The breakfast was buffet style (not the norm on our trip) with a reasonable selection on offer, but let down by DIY toasting (you had to wait and your food gets cold).
Really hotels should get rid of this toasting practice!
Finally, when dealing with customers at reception DO NOT LET THE PHONE INTERRUPT.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunraven Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunraven Arms Hotel

Address: Main St, Adare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunraven Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Dunraven Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunraven Arms Adare
Hotel Dunraven Arms

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunraven Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.